My adventures in the woods, streams, rivers, fields, and lakes of Michigan

Warbling Vireo, Vireo gilvus

Note: this post, while published, is a work in progress, as are all posts in this series, My Photo Life List. My goal is to photograph every species of bird that is seen on a regular basis here in Michigan, working from a list compiled by the Michigan chapter of the Audubon Society. This will be a lifelong project, that I began in January of 2013, and as I shoot better photos of this, or any other species, I will update the post for that species with better photos when I can. While this series is not intended to be a field guide per se, my minimum standard for the photos in this series is that one has to be able to make a positive identification of the species in my photos. The information posted here is from either my observations or the Wikipedia, the online free encyclopedia, however, I have personally shot all the photos appearing in this series.

Warbling Vireo, Vireo gilvus

The Warbling Vireo is a small North American songbird.

Its breeding habitat is open deciduous and mixed woods from Alaska to Mexico and the Florida Panhandle. It often nests along streams. It migrates to Mexico and Central America.

Adults are 12 cm long and weigh 12 g. They are mainly olive-grey on the head and upper parts with white underparts; they have brown eyes and the front of the face is light. There is a white supercilium. They have thick blue-grey legs and a stout bill. Western birds are generally smaller and have darker grey crowns.

They forage for insects in trees, hopping along branches and sometimes hovering. They also eat berries, especially before migration and in winter quarters, where they are like other vireos, apparently quite fond of Gumbo-limbo seeds, though they will not venture into human-modified habitat to get them.

They make a deep cup nest suspended from a tree branch or shrub, placed relatively high in the east and lower in the west. The male helps with incubation and may sing from the nest.

Their song is a cheerful warble, similar to that of the Painted Bunting.

On to my photos:

Warbling vireo

Warbling vireo

Warbling vireo

Warbling vireo

This is number 87 in my photo life list, only 263 to go!

That’s it for this one, thanks for stopping by!

wordpress_logo_post_whenever2

4 responses

  1. Clever to catch it in mid warble.

    April 17, 2013 at 6:16 pm

    • Thanks, I get lucky sometimes.

      April 18, 2013 at 2:48 am

  2. Oh I hope to see one of these one day.

    April 23, 2013 at 8:47 pm

    • You can find their song online to get to know it, that’s the way to locate them, as they blend in very well.

      April 24, 2013 at 2:18 am