My adventures in the woods, streams, rivers, fields, and lakes of Michigan

Field Sparrow, Spizella pusilla

Note: this post, while published, is a work in progress, as are all posts in this series, My Photo Life List. My goal is to photograph every species of bird that is seen on a regular basis here in Michigan, working from a list compiled by the Michigan chapter of the Audubon Society. This will be a lifelong project, that I began in January of 2013, and as I shoot better photos of this, or any other species, I will update the post for that species with better photos when I can. While this series is not intended to be a field guide per se, my minimum standard for the photos in this series is that one has to be able to make a positive identification of the species in my photos. The information posted here is from either my observations or the Wikipedia, the online free encyclopedia, however, I have personally shot all the photos appearing in this series.

Field Sparrow, Spizella pusilla

The Field Sparrow is a small sparrow.

Adults have brown upper parts, a light brown breast, a white belly, wing bars and a forked tail. They have a grey face, a rusty crown, a white eye ring and a pink bill.

Their breeding habitat is shrubby fields across eastern North America. The nest is an open cup on the ground under a clump of grass or in a small thicket.

These birds are permanent residents in the southern parts of their range. Northern birds migrate to the southern United States and Mexico.

These birds forage on the ground or in low vegetation, mainly eating insects and seeds. They may feed in small flocks outside the nesting season.

The male sings from a higher perch, such as a shrub or fencepost, which indicates his ownership of the nesting territory. The song is a series of sad whistles ending in a trill.

This bird’s numbers expanded as settlers cleared forests in eastern North America, but may have declined in more recent times.

On to my photos:

Field sparrow

Field sparrow

Field sparrow

Field sparrow

Field sparrow

Field sparrow

Field sparrow

Field sparrow

Field sparrow

Field sparrow

Field sparrow

Field sparrow

Field sparrow

Field sparrow

Field sparrow

Field sparrow

Field sparrow

Field sparrow

 

This is number 89 in my photo life list, only 261 to go!

That’s it for this one, thanks for stopping by!

wordpress_logo_post_whenever2

6 responses

  1. I’m glad I’ve been buying $12.00 belts that fall apart rather than $30.00 ones that do the same! Maybe the suspenders will give you that “grandfatherly look.” Losing 50 lbs is great though!
    You know it’s bad when the crayfish have had too much water! I hope the weather will calm down for you soon. Raising a lake that size 3 inches in such a short time is incredible. I hope it still has room for more runoff.
    I like the 4th shot of the heron with the wind in its feathers, and i’m with you on the groundhog!

    April 20, 2013 at 8:44 pm

    • Well, it’s not just the belts. I bought a moderately priced pair of boots, and all the eyelets pulled out of one of the boots in just two months. Makes me wonder what they feed their cows in China that produces such shoddy leather. On the other hand, having heard stories coming out of China, maybe I don’t want to know.

      I past caring about how I look, I want to lose the weight because I’m tired of not being able to do the things I used to. I have thirty more pounds to go to get back to where I was, don’t know if I’ll make it all the way, but I can sure tell the difference in how I feel having lost the weight that I have.

      I also bought the suspenders because I have this idea for a way to carry things around with me while hiking and kayaking, much like the military belts are. I didn’t know that they still made those belts, but my brother told me today that they do, and they have suspenders for the belts also. That’s what he’s using, so I am going to order a set up like his. I think the total price will be around $20, and I can hang stuff all over myself, like camera lenses. I have two packs, but they are a pain for getting to stuff quickly.

      Oh, and I have never seen crayfish doing that before, they were a good 50 feet from the creek. I did an online search to see if I could learn anything, but struck out.

      April 20, 2013 at 10:11 pm

      • I wonder how I commented on the wrong post?? Anyhow, I remember those belts and I think I’ve seen them for sale. That’s a good idea-I might have to look into it.

        April 21, 2013 at 9:07 am

      • I figured out what you meant. A number of place sell those belts through Amazon, there’s a wide range in price for the same belts.

        April 21, 2013 at 10:05 pm

  2. Isn’t the field sparrow just too darling? I love their soft color.

    April 23, 2013 at 8:46 pm

    • True, but I love their singing even more.

      April 24, 2013 at 2:15 am