My adventures in the woods, streams, rivers, fields, and lakes of Michigan

Memorial Day weekend, Saturday, the arrival

I got an early (for me after working 2nd shift) start, and hit the road before 10 AM. After a stop to photograph the Sturgeon Point Lighthouse, I arrived at the campground that I had chosen for the weekend, Ossineke State Forest Campground.

That reminds me, at the lighthouse, I shot this male American Redstart.

Male American Redstart

Male American Redstart

I was a little surprised to see so many campsites available at the campground, since it was a holiday weekend. But, since many of the individual campsites were little more than small peninsulas of raised land projecting into either marshes or a cedar swamp, I can see why many people would reject this campground, something tells me that the mosquitoes could be unbearable for much of the summer. I’m sure that the heavy rains we’ve had this spring has made the campground to appear worse than it is in a normal year, but still, if I were to camp there in the summer, I would be sure to bring plenty of insect repellent, and be prepared to shower in it several times a day.

I found a high and dry site right on Lake Huron in the north unit, and promptly set up camp. I was a little leery of my site, it was number 13, and next to the grave of one A. J. Michalowsky, as you can see from this sign.

Grave marker

Grave marker

By the way, the B&W was an oops, as the bright sunlight made reading the LCD display of my camera difficult as I was switching settings.

Side note, I really could use a second camera body, I would have been switching lenses every few minutes this entire weekend to photograph everything to my best abilities. But, no matter where I went, or what I did, there were always birds around, as you will soon see. As it was, I left the Sigma 150-500 mm on the camera more than I should have, but if I had switched lenses every time I thought about it, that’s about all I would have accomplished this weekend.

Since I was in the B&W mode, I’ll throw in a couple of other shots that actually work in B&W.

Great egret in flight

Great egret in flight

Dunlin

Dunlin

The flowers that I had switched lenses for that got me to the B&W setting look blah without color, so they were deleted.

As I said, my campsite was right on the beach, so after getting camp set up, I strolled the beach looking for whatever I could find to photograph.

Lake Huron shoreline

Lake Huron shoreline

IMG_3932

Red-breasted mergansers taking a break

Red-breasted mergansers taking a break

The cement plant across Thunder Bay

The cement plant across Thunder Bay

Lake Huron shoreline

Lake Huron shoreline

Lake Huron shoreline

Lake Huron shoreline

Beach flowers

Beach flowers

Great egret landing

Great egret landing

There’s a mile of beach there at the campground, so that means I walked two miles out and back, and it was time for a break. As I was sitting there relaxing, I noticed a trick of the late afternoon sun in the needles of some pines.

Pine needles in the sun

Pine needles in the sun

Then, it was back to the beach a second time.

Dunlin and reflection

Dunlin and reflection

Dunlin

Dunlin

Lake Huron shoreline

Lake Huron shoreline

Lake Huron shoreline

Lake Huron shoreline

Beach plant

Beach plant

Shorebirds in flight

Shorebirds in flight

Shorebirds in flight

Shorebirds in flight

Shorebirds in flight

Shorebirds in flight

Shorebirds in flight

Shorebirds in flight

Lake Huron shoreline

Lake Huron shoreline

Lake Huron shoreline

Lake Huron shoreline

Great egret in flight

Great egret in flight

IMG_4068

Lake Huron shoreline

Lake Huron shoreline

Lake Huron shoreline

Lake Huron shoreline

Lake freighter at night

Lake freighter at night

Glowing Japanese lantern

Glowing Japanese lantern

I waited (and froze) until 10:30 PM for the moon to rise, as I really wanted to photograph the full moon rising above the lake, but I guess I picked a bad spot where it wasn’t in my line of sight. So, as cold as it was, and little else to do, I turned in for the night so I could get an early start on Sunday.

That’s it for this one, thanks for stopping by!

14 responses

  1. I think I see what you mean. But then again your bird shots are so much better than mine. Seems we all have out niche.

    May 29, 2013 at 3:13 am

    • Thanks, there are some beautiful and even dramatic landscapes in Michigan, but it’s too early in the year to visit those spots.

      May 29, 2013 at 3:17 am

  2. The sunset shots are beautiful, and I wonder what was going on with those pine needles? I don’t think I’ve ever seen that.
    No matter how many times I see it in photos it’s hard to imagine a lake that’s as big as an ocean. It’s a beautiful place and you’re very lucky to live there.

    May 29, 2013 at 6:29 am

    • Thanks Allen. The pine needles are an optical illusion of sorts, I was shooting almost directly at the sun. The sunlight reflects silver off from the edges of the needles, and using a large aperture to shorten the depth of field, the bokeh effect produces what you see in the photos.

      I do love living in Michigan, where we have three of the five Great Lakes that are very much like oceans, and best of all, easy access to the lakes and their beauty.

      May 29, 2013 at 10:03 am

  3. The reflective dunlin was a real treat. I too have wondered whether I could justify having two camera bodies and stop fiddling about with lenses when on a walk.

    May 29, 2013 at 6:27 pm

    • Thanks Tom. I’ve been giving it a lot of thought, two bodies make a lot of sense. Less wear and tear on each of them, since you’re spreading the “load” out between the two, and less chance of getting stuff on the sensor or other delicate parts while changing lenses. I figure that at my age, and the numbers of photos I take, I will wear the new camera out, so if I buy a second body now, it should cost less than if I wait until this one wears out.

      May 30, 2013 at 1:29 am

  4. These are awesome images Jerry. What a gorgeous day you had here. The Dunlin in the evening light is glorious. Bet you’re really loving your new equipment now.

    May 29, 2013 at 7:23 pm

    • Thanks, it was a great day, as part of a great weekend, as you will see. And yes, I am loving having a real camera again!

      May 30, 2013 at 1:30 am

  5. Looks like you had a great camp site! Love the shots of the dunlin, and the sunset photos. What a beautiful day!

    May 30, 2013 at 8:43 am

    • Thanks Amy! I was lucky, I snagged one of the best sites in the campground, and it was a glorious weekend as far as the weather!

      May 30, 2013 at 9:45 am

  6. Everytime…you take some amazing pictures!

    May 31, 2013 at 3:01 pm

    • Thank you!

      June 1, 2013 at 2:11 am

  7. Enjoying your weekend adventure thru your photos, Jerry. Love your dunlin reflecting in the water, great capture! And I thought the male & female mergansers was an adorable shot!

    June 3, 2013 at 10:41 pm

    • Thanks Donna, I’m glad you enjoyed it.

      June 4, 2013 at 1:41 am