My adventures in the woods, streams, rivers, fields, and lakes of Michigan

June flowers

As promised, here are a few of the flowers that I have seen in the last few weeks. I am going to try to identify these as best I can, which isn’t very good. I don’t have a guide book, I have to go by memory and other people’s blogs, which got me in trouble until I learned which ones I could trust.

Update: Thanks to Chris of Plants Amaze Me and Allen of New Hampshire Garden solutions, a few more of these have been identified, but I’m not going to change the captions so that it looks like I knew what I was doing. Please see their comments if you’re interested in a positive ID.

Blackberry

Blackberry

Unknown flowering tree

Unknown flowering tree

Unknown flowering tree

Unknown flowering tree

These next two are small white and pink flowers that I see in a mown lawn most of the time. The flowers are about an inch in diameter.

IMG_4698

???

IMG_4700

???

This one is even smaller, less than a quarter inch in diameter, also growing in a lawn.

IMG_4703

Purple???

Red Clover??

Red Clover??

Cow vetch??

Cow vetch??

???

???

Grass

Grass

Lavender

Lavender

Lavender

Lavender

Wild iris

Wild iris

Cow vetch??

Cow vetch??

Ox eye daisy

Ox eye daisy

Yellow hawkweed

Yellow hawkweed

IMG_4777

???

IMG_4887

Maple leaves, not flowers, but colorful

IMG_4885

Raspberries???

Bird’s foot trefoil

Bird’s foot trefoil

Bird’s foot trefoil

Bird’s foot trefoil

Very similar to yellow hawkweed, but I don't think it is

Very similar to yellow hawkweed, but I don’t think it is

These next ones are one of the reasons that I have trouble identifying flowers.

IMG_4907

???

I assume the one above is a different species than this one?

IMG_4924

???

But the same as the following ones?

IMG_4926

???

Cultivated iris

Cultivated iris

Oriental poppy

Oriental poppy

Oriental poppy

Oriental poppy

Cultivated iris

Cultivated iris

IMG_5025

???

IMG_5028

??? I should know, I think I’ve seen it in several blogs

Wild iris

Wild iris

Orange hawkweed

Orange hawkweed

Wild rose

Wild rose

???

Blackberries

IMG_5147

???

IMG_5150

Viburnum family???

Cow vetch??

Cow vetch??

Heal all

Heal all

Grass

Grass

Crown vetch???

Crown vetch???

So, that’s the best I can do. Nothing spectacular, and I’m sure that I missed an ID or two, or three.

That’s it for this one, thanks for stopping by!

22 responses

  1. Seems to me identifying birds or plants just takes lots of patience and experience.

    June 9, 2013 at 5:57 pm

    • That’s true, but I have no field guide for flowers, and I’m too busy trying to learn birds to take on plants right now.

      June 9, 2013 at 7:59 pm

  2. I’m not sure what the flowering tree is, but I think the vetch photos are cow vetch except for the last one, which is crown vetch. The white flower with a bug on it is a garden anemone, possibly one of the Japanese anemones.
    The white flower that is 23rd from the top is white campion and the 24th is bladder campion.They are both in the same family.The yellow flower 25th from the top is prickly lettuce. That’s all I can do without a guide and I’m getting tired of reading plant guides.

    June 9, 2013 at 6:42 pm

    • Thanks, you were already far more help than you know. I went through a number of your posts from this year and last to come up with as many IDs as I did, and I didn’t expect you to do more, although I do appreciate the help. I’ve been reading field guides for birds so much that I’m dreaming of the stupid things now, so I can only imagine how you feel.

      June 9, 2013 at 8:02 pm

      • Get a copy of Newcombs. You have to learn only a few terms and what to look for, and with that info, you get a 3-digit number which takes you to a page (or three) showing all the plants with those characteristics. It really narrows it down.

        I agree with Allen’s id of white & bladder campion. Unfortunately, these tow species can hybridize making it even more difficult in some cases. I think you might also have a specimen of cheeses (Malva sylvestris).

        As for your “looks like hawkweed” flower – there are several species of hawkweed, and I think you have found another of them.

        My advice though, is to continue trying to id them as long as you enjoy it. If it becomes a chore, why bother?

        June 9, 2013 at 9:52 pm

      • Thanks for the tip on a guide, one of these days I may pick one up, I should. I find plants tougher than birds to ID, but part of that is that I don’t make as much effort with plants. I took some flak from people when I first began my blog for not IDing things, and that makes sense in a way, so I do the best I can. Besides, there always seems to be some one that asks what something is if I don’t ID it, either here or on FB.

        June 10, 2013 at 9:48 am

      • I don’t mind helping out when I can-especially with flowers. I’ve been trying to ID grasses and sedges for a while and they are tough enough to keep me looking in books. That gets old soon so I turn my attention elsewhere for a break.

        June 10, 2013 at 12:44 pm

      • Well, I do thank you for your able assistance, and I’m not even going to try to tackle grasses and sedges. 😉

        June 10, 2013 at 1:10 pm

  3. I have a wonderful Audobon full-color photo field guide for wildflowers, but I keep it at our northwoods cabin. Maybe I need to bring it home so I can help you a bit! LOL Although I’ve found i.d’ing flowers very difficult. This guide is pretty nice though, as it has them divided by color and by petal shape, etc. I wouldn’t worry too much about the i.d, just enjoy taking the photos and know that your followers appreciate your efforts!

    June 10, 2013 at 8:57 am

    • Thanks Amy. I had a very old Audubon plant guide at one time, it got lost in one of my many moves, and it wasn’t that great as old as it was. Darned scientists keep changing the names of things, both birds and plants.

      June 10, 2013 at 9:50 am

  4. I leave plants to Mrs Tootlepedal but you seemed to have seen a very nice selection there.

    June 10, 2013 at 5:58 pm

    • Thanks, I can see why you leave the flowers to her, she does such a fantastic job with them!

      June 11, 2013 at 2:44 am

  5. What an outstanding flower collection you were able to discover. A lot of them I didn’t recognize as well. Many seem to be wildflowers which I know nothing about. Wonderful captures.

    June 10, 2013 at 9:27 pm

    • Thanks, and yes, most of them are wildflowers. Some are even considered weeds, although for the life of me, I don’t know why.

      June 11, 2013 at 2:45 am

  6. plantsamazeme

    Flowers! The “Unknown flowering tree” (2nd and 3rd pictures) is a deciduous shrub known by the common name Beauty Bush (Kolkwitzia amabilis).

    4th and 5th pictures are Common Mallow or Cheeses (Malva neglecta) just a pretty little weed.

    White flower below the yellow hawkweed is Canada Anemone (Anemone canadensis), I see a lot of that around here.

    Photo number 23 is White campion Latin name: Silene latifolia, photo 24 is Bladder Campion (Silene vulgaris) Pink family.

    You found some pretty flowers Jerry, thanks.

    June 11, 2013 at 1:27 pm

    • Well, thank you for the identifications!

      June 11, 2013 at 1:32 pm

  7. Colorama! Love the colors!

    June 11, 2013 at 8:52 pm

    • Thanks, there’s some different species about to bloom, I’m hoping for even better photos soon.

      June 12, 2013 at 2:35 am

  8. It’s fun scrolling through these & remembering some that I used to see back east. The Silenes – campions – there are some around here too and I just was taking pictures of them yesterday. I love those little guys – the veins on the “bladders” and the pure white flowers. Love the Canada anemones, too. None here! An eastern spring woodland memory. I always liked my Peterson Field Guide – very old but it worked for me (Roger Tory Peterson, just like the old bird guides before Sibley). Hey, flowers can be tough to ID but at least they don’t fly away!

    June 13, 2013 at 11:39 pm

    • Thank you, but in the wind that we’ve had the last two days, the flowers were flying more than the birds.

      June 14, 2013 at 2:55 am

  9. I find your blog inspiring ^_^
    I hope you don’t mind me nominating your blog 🙂 http://alittlethingcalledmetime.wordpress.com/2013/06/19/very-inspiring-blogger-award/
    Either you want to join or not, your blog is very much appreciated ^_^
    Keep us updated 🙂

    June 19, 2013 at 9:02 am

    • Thank you for thinking that my blog was worthy of an award, however, I do not participate in any of the awards, for several reasons.

      June 19, 2013 at 9:28 am