My adventures in the woods, streams, rivers, fields, and lakes of Michigan

Lost Lake trail, Muskegon SP, the plants

To escape the heat and humidity on Sunday, I went to Muskegon State Park and hiked the Lost Lake trail. I shot some of the best photos of my life today, and some that may not be spectacular, but are interesting enough to post. I took 341 photos today, whittled that number down to 130, as many of the photos were of the same subject, but shot with different settings.

For this post, I am going to do just the flowers and plants from today, I hope that you’ll like them as much as I do. There’s not much to say about them, other than I think that laying in the mud for some of these was worth it. I used all three of my lenses at one time or another for these, depending on the size of the flowers, and how close I could get to them.

You can click any of these for a larger few.

Water lily

Water lily

Green!

Green!

???

Burr reed

Wild roses and other plants along the trail

Wild roses and other plants along the trail

Flowering tree

Flowering tree

Water lily

Water lily

Water lily

Water lily

Water lily

Water lily

Water lily

Water lily

Water lily

Water lily

Water lily

Water lily

Atlantic blue-eyed grass

Atlantic blue-eyed grass

Atlantic blue-eyed grass

Atlantic blue-eyed grass

Atlantic blue-eyed grass

Atlantic blue-eyed grass

Water lily

Water lily

Sundew

Sundew

Sundew

Sundew

Sundew

Sundew

IMG_6323

Sundew

???

???

???

Rose potogia

???

Rose pogonia

???

Rose pogonia

???

Rose pogonia

Grass?

Grey’s sedge

Pitcher plant

Pitcher plant

Pitcher plant

Pitcher plant

Pitcher plant

Pitcher plant

Pitcher plant

Pitcher plant

Pitcher plant

Pitcher plant

Water lily

Water lily

Pitcher plant

Pitcher plant

Wild Iris

Wild Iris

Wild Iris

Wild Iris

Wild Iris

Wild Iris

Water lily

Water lily

Water lily

Water lily

Water lily

Water lily

Wild Iris

Wild Iris

New red leaves

New red leaves

Water lily

Water lily

I’m sorry that there are so many of the same flowers, but I was on a roll, and after seeing them, I can’t pick out the best of the best, I like them all.

I still have bugs, birds, and Bambi from today to post, I’ll get to those in other posts.

That’s it for this one, thanks for stopping by.

30 responses

  1. you can’t pick out the best because there are so many beautiful ones, agreed πŸ™‚

    June 24, 2013 at 12:29 am

    • Thank you very much!

      June 24, 2013 at 8:33 am

  2. …and they’re all beautiful.

    June 24, 2013 at 1:42 am

    • Thanks, there were a couple of times that I wished that I could have borrowed your new macro lens. πŸ˜‰

      June 24, 2013 at 8:34 am

  3. I think you got some shots of a Rose Pogonia! Beautiful! I’ve only seen them in books, never in person yet! Love the sundews as well.

    June 24, 2013 at 2:33 am

    • Thank you! I wished that I could have gotten better shots of them, but they were in a spot that made photography difficult.

      June 24, 2013 at 8:35 am

  4. The water lily shots are beautiful-I think they’re fragrant lilies. The unknown white, spherical flowers are called burr reed and are common in wet areas. The spikey looking thing that you wonder about being a grass is called gray’s sedge, I think. It’s another water lover. The best find of the day though by far was the rose pogonia, which is the pink flower with the unusual shape. It’s a native orchid and it’s beautiful. I’ve searched for years trying to find it, so I wish I could have been there. I’d definitely be going back there if I were you-there are bound to be other orchids blooming later in the year.

    June 24, 2013 at 6:25 am

    • Thanks for the help! I had some difficulty getting many of the shots, especially the rose pogonia because of standing water, and the fact that I didn’t want to trample any of the other plant life along the shore of the lake any more than I had to. I didn’t know what I was seeing, but I could tell that many of the plants grow in specialized locations, so are rather rare.

      June 24, 2013 at 8:41 am

  5. Beautiful flowers and we have the same sundew around here, two different kinds.

    June 24, 2013 at 6:58 am

    • Thank you Bente!

      June 24, 2013 at 8:42 am

  6. Wow, those are some great shots! I especially love the water lilies with the visible reflection.

    June 24, 2013 at 2:31 pm

    • Thanks, I did too, which is why I shot so many. πŸ˜‰

      June 25, 2013 at 2:27 am

  7. I can see why you went back to the water lily so often.

    June 24, 2013 at 6:46 pm

    • Thanks, there were hundreds of them, I’m surprised that I didn’t try to photograph them all.

      June 25, 2013 at 2:28 am

      • You did enough to get by.

        June 25, 2013 at 6:29 pm

  8. Those water lily shots are breathtaking! Looks like you had a wonderful visit to the park. I hope it was cooler there for you. Looking forward to seeing more photos from your visit.

    June 24, 2013 at 7:52 pm

    • Thanks, it was a lot cooler there near the lake, quite comfortable in fact. It may take me a day or two to get the next batch ready.

      June 25, 2013 at 2:29 am

  9. That very first water lily shot is absolutely one of your best! I am unfortunately viewing these on an old laptop but will look again on my newer Mac later. It must be even more radiant “in person”!

    June 25, 2013 at 9:32 am

    • Thank you, there is something about water lilies that make them such a good subject for photos, at least to me.

      June 25, 2013 at 10:07 am

  10. plantsamazeme

    Wonderful photos of the water lily, it is hard to choose just one, I’m glad you shared several. Lost Lake is a special place.
    I went for a walk there with my three sisters on July 1, 2008, I took pictures of the Rose Pogonia. One sister put the photo on necklaces for each of us.
    I look forward to the rest of your trip and photos.
    πŸ™‚

    June 25, 2013 at 1:32 pm

    • Thanks Chris. This is the first summer that I have been to Lost Lake, silly me, I used to hike there only in the fall through very early spring. Now I know what a mistake that was.

      June 25, 2013 at 2:01 pm

  11. Your water lilies are divine, as well as the iris and pitcher plant. Is this the 70-200?

    June 25, 2013 at 6:32 pm

    • The pitcher plant and a couple of the water lilies were with the L series, the rest were with either the Sigma or the 15-85. I haven’t done any pixel peeping yet, but all three of the lenses are about equal when shooting under equal conditions, although the auto-focus of the L series is a bit more finicky than the other two.

      June 26, 2013 at 2:43 am

  12. I too love the water lilies captures, gorgeous!

    June 25, 2013 at 10:43 pm

    • Thanks, those were one of the times when I got almost exactly the photos I was trying for.

      June 26, 2013 at 2:05 am

      • We all just love those times!!! πŸ™‚

        June 26, 2013 at 1:48 pm

  13. Pingback: Lost Lake Trail, Muskegon SP, birds plus Pt I | Quiet Solo Pursuits

  14. Pingback: Lost Lake Trail, Muskegon SP, birds plus Pt II | Quiet Solo Pursuits

  15. Pingback: My week, the weather yucky, but I’m so lucky | Quiet Solo Pursuits

  16. Pingback: Another trip to Muskegon, more birds, blooms, and bugs | Quiet Solo Pursuits