My adventures in the woods, streams, rivers, fields, and lakes of Michigan

Lost Lake Trail, Muskegon SP, birds plus Pt I

To escape the heat and humidity on Sunday, I went to Muskegon State Park and hiked the Lost Lake trail. I shot some of the best photos of my life today, and some that may not be spectacular, but are interesting enough to post. I took 341 photos today, whittled that number down to 130, as many of the photos were of the same subject, but shot with different settings.

For this post, I am going to post an assortment of birds, bugs, and a few other things I saw, to go along with the post that I have already done with the flower photos that I took that day. Not all the photos are great ones, but I think that they show the variety of things there to be seen.

Male Baltimore oriole

Male Baltimore oriole

Male Baltimore oriole in flight

Male Baltimore oriole in flight

Male Baltimore oriole

Male Baltimore oriole

Mushroom

Mushroom

Mushroom

Mushroom

Mushrooms

Mushrooms

Red-tailed hawk in flight

Red-tailed hawk in flight

Marsh hawk in flight

Marsh hawk in flight

Cedar waxwing

Cedar waxwing

Marsh hawk in flight

Marsh hawk in flight

Turkey vulture in flight

Turkey vulture in flight

Dragonfly

Dragonfly

Green heron

Green heron

Green heron

Green heron

Dragonfly eating a small fly

Dragonfly eating a small fly

Dragonfly eating a small fly

Dragonfly eating a small fly

Chipping sparrow

Chipping sparrow

Common yellowthroat

Common yellowthroat

Male Indigo bunting

Male Indigo bunting

Dragonfly in flight

Dragonfly in flight

Dragonfly

Dragonfly

Dragonfly

Dragonfly

Sunlit spiderweb

Sunlit spiderweb

Tiny blue and white flowers

Tiny blue and white flowers

Barn swallow

Barn swallow

I still have a few more photos from this trip that I want to post, they’ll be coming up soon.

That’s it for this one, thanks for stopping by!

13 responses

  1. Can’t sleep in the middle of the night (actually early morning now).
    What a treat to see such lovely photos!

    June 26, 2013 at 3:13 am

    • Thanks Mary, I should have written a little more, as my writing tends to put people to sleep. 😉

      June 26, 2013 at 9:23 am

  2. What a great place to explore, with an unbelievable amount of interesting things to see. I love the dragonflies and the shots of the hard to photograph green heron.

    June 26, 2013 at 6:13 am

    • Thanks, I spent the entire day on Sunday walking about the same distance as I do on my daily walks, and doing a lot of sitting. I found that the sitting produced the most and best photos. I may have to change my MO. 😉

      June 26, 2013 at 9:30 am

      • I’ve thought about that too. That’s what Grampy at the Goat Sass Farm blog says he does a lot of the time and he gets some amazing shots.

        June 26, 2013 at 3:13 pm

  3. You certainly had your eyes open on your hike. Great shots.

    June 26, 2013 at 6:40 pm

    • Always, my parents taught me well.

      June 27, 2013 at 1:31 am

  4. plantsamazeme

    The five mushrooms in a row on the tree is a cool shot. And the birds are nice as always. Looks like it was a good trip.

    June 26, 2013 at 8:05 pm

    • Thanks, it was, especially since it was cool and pleasant there when compared to GR.

      June 27, 2013 at 1:32 am

  5. Pingback: Lost Lake Trail, Muskegon SP, birds plus Pt II | Quiet Solo Pursuits

  6. Pingback: My week, the weather yucky, but I’m so lucky | Quiet Solo Pursuits

  7. I am so jealous of your Baltimore Oriole. You see one more often than I do, and I live right outside of Baltimore !! I saw one briefly two days ago, but it hasn’t returned. Even after moving oriole feeders to the tree I saw it at. 😦

    June 29, 2013 at 7:43 pm

    • Maybe they’ve all left Baltimore, as I have to fight off flocks of them around here now. I think that some of them follow me.

      June 29, 2013 at 8:03 pm