My adventures in the woods, streams, rivers, fields, and lakes of Michigan

Lost Lake Trail, Muskegon SP, birds plus Pt II

To escape the heat and humidity on Sunday, I went to Muskegon State Park and hiked the Lost Lake trail. I shot some of the best photos of my life today, and some that may not be spectacular, but are interesting enough to post. I took 341 photos today, whittled that number down to 130, as many of the photos were of the same subject, but shot with different settings.

For this third post from that day, I am going to post an assortment of birds and a few other things I saw, to go along with the post that I have already done with the flower photos that I took that day. Not all the photos are great ones, but I think that they show the variety of things there to be seen.

For the first post of the birds and other things that I saw, go here.

These were taken in the Snug Harbor portion of Muskegon State Park in the evening as I was getting ready to leave. That is the where the boat launch and day use area (picnic area) are, along with the parking lot and the trailhead for several of the trails that wind through the park are located.

All the picnickers had left for the day, and the wildlife came out to play.

All these were shot with my Sigma 150-500 mm lens, and in a rare thing for me, the lens wasn’t zoomed to 500 mm for many of these shots, even fewer were cropped at all. By the time I shot these, a peaceful, serene feeling had come over me, and I wanted to convey that, and a sense of the setting in my photos. It was special to walk along, and see the wildlife behaving completely natural, as if neither I, or any one else, were within miles of the place. Watching a doe appear out of the reeds to feed in the waters of Muskegon Lake pretty much sums it up.

Male mute swan in action

Male mute swan in action

Male mute swan in action

Male mute swan in action

Male mute swan in action

Male mute swan in action

Female mute swan and cygnets

Female mute swan and cygnets

Female mute swan and cygnets

Female mute swan and cygnets

Common yellowthroat singing

Common yellowthroat singing

Common yellowthroat singing

Common yellowthroat singing

Eaglet

Eaglet

Eaglet

Eaglet

Eaglet

Eaglet

Male scarlet tanager

Male scarlet tanager

Male scarlet tanager

Male scarlet tanager

Male scarlet tanager

Male scarlet tanager

Eaglet

Eaglet

Eaglet

Eaglet

Female eastern bluebird

Female eastern bluebird

Female mute swan and cygnets

Female mute swan and cygnets

Female mute swan and cygnets

Female mute swan and cygnets

Female mute swan and cygnets

Female mute swan and cygnets

Female mute swan and cygnets

Female mute swan and cygnets

Whitetail deer

Whitetail deer

Female mute swan and cygnets

Female mute swan and cygnets

Whitetail deer

Whitetail deer

Female mute swan and cygnets

Female mute swan and cygnets

Whitetail deer

Whitetail deer

Mute swans and cygnets

Mute swans and cygnets

Whitetail deer

Whitetail deer

Whitetail deer

Whitetail deer

Painted turtles basking

Painted turtles basking

IMG_6526

Great blue heron

IMG_6534

Whitetail deer

Whitetail deer and great blue heron

Whitetail deer and great blue heron

IMG_6547

Male red-winged blackbird

Canada goose gosling

Canada goose gosling

Female mallard

Female mallard

Male mallard

Male mallard

That’s it for this one, thanks for stopping by!

18 responses

  1. These are all excellent but the shot of the male red winged blackbird is really amazing.I’ve never seen a deer in the water but I suppose they must do it all the time. There are some mighty tall reeds on that lake!

    June 28, 2013 at 10:47 am

    • Thanks, you’re not going to believe this, but I had two shots of the red-winged blackbird where the exposure was even better, but its dinner looked like a growth on the bird’s beak, so I didn’t use either of them. Deer love water plants when they can get to them, and I suppose that the water is cooler, and a good way to escape biting insects as well.

      June 28, 2013 at 1:12 pm

  2. First I saw the cygnets and went “awwwww” and then I saw an eaglet (!) Not to mention charming shots of the deer in the water, baby Canada goose…yes, a good day in your nature wonderland, sir!

    June 28, 2013 at 2:56 pm

    • Thank you Lori! You may find it hard to believe, but if I had swung the camera a little farther to the left when photographing the swans, you would have seen downtown Muskegon, Michigan. It’s a mid-sized industrial city on the southern shores of Muskegon Lake, but the northwest corner of the lake looks virtually unspoiled today.

      June 28, 2013 at 3:12 pm

      • Amazing!

        June 28, 2013 at 3:14 pm

  3. I really liked the pictures of the white tailed deer in the water.

    June 28, 2013 at 6:59 pm

    • Thanks, they’re probably better than the last photo of a deer doing something unusual that I posted.

      June 29, 2013 at 2:21 am

  4. My favorite of all of these is the one of the female swan with the four cygnets lined up facing her side…. very lovely.

    June 28, 2013 at 7:09 pm

    • Thanks, I was wondering if I should have included as many of the swans as I did.

      June 29, 2013 at 2:19 am

  5. Once again you’ve got some great shots there. Love the standoff between the deer and the heron!

    June 29, 2013 at 7:25 am

    • Thanks, it really wasn’t a standoff, the heron was perched for the night, and the deer just happened to be feeding nearby.

      June 29, 2013 at 9:18 am

      • I figured, it was just interesting to see them so close.

        June 29, 2013 at 9:20 am

  6. You did a wonderful job of conveying the serenity of the setting! Gorgeous pictures. Love the swans and I love that one of the turtles! What a wide array of birds, wildlife and flowers you got ot enjoy on your outting,

    June 29, 2013 at 8:09 am

    • Thanks Amy, that’s a more or less typical day for the Muskegon area, which is why I go there so often.

      June 29, 2013 at 9:17 am

      • What a blessing to have such a beautiful, nature-filled area close to you! You have managed to find some great places to fill up your soul even in your more urban environment!

        June 29, 2013 at 10:57 am

  7. Pingback: My week, the weather yucky, but I’m so lucky | Quiet Solo Pursuits

  8. Ok jealousy insues again. Mute swan with babies??? And the Scarlet Tanager again? Truly not fair !! Fantastic captures Jerry.

    June 29, 2013 at 7:44 pm

    • Thanks, I’m surprised that you didn’t mention the eaglet. 😉 I may not be the best photographer in the world, nor the greatest outdoorsman, but I think that I do a fair enough job at both bring home the bacon on a regular basis.

      June 29, 2013 at 8:02 pm