My adventures in the woods, streams, rivers, fields, and lakes of Michigan

Pine Warbler, Setophaga pinus

Note: this post, while published, is a work in progress, as are all posts in this series, My Photo Life List. My goal is to photograph every species of bird that is seen on a regular basis here in Michigan, working from a list compiled by the Michigan chapter of the Audubon Society. This will be a lifelong project, that I began in January of 2013, and as I shoot better photos of this, or any other species, I will update the post for that species with better photos when I can. While this series is not intended to be a field guide per se, my minimum standard for the photos in this series is that one has to be able to make a positive identification of the species in my photos. The information posted here is from either my observations or the Wikipedia, the online free encyclopedia, however, I have personally shot all the photos appearing in this series.

Pine Warbler, Setophaga pinus

The Pine Warbler is a small songbird of the New World warbler family.

These birds have white bellies, white wing bars, dark legs and thin, relatively long pointed bills; they have yellowish lines over their eyes. Adult males have olive upper parts and bright yellow throats and breasts. Females and juveniles display upper parts which are olive-brown. Their throats and breasts are paler.

The song of this bird is a musical trill. Their calls are slurred chips.

Their breeding habitats are open pine woods in eastern North America. These birds are permanent residents in southern Florida. Some of them, however, migrate to northeastern Mexico and islands in the Caribbean.

They forage slowly on tree trunks and branches by poking their bill into pine cones. These birds also find food by searching for it on the ground. These birds mainly eat insects, seeds and berries.

The Pine Warbler is the only warbler that eats large quantities of seeds, primarily those of pines. This seed-eating ability means Pine Warblers sometimes visit bird feeders, unlike almost all other warblers.

Their nests are deep, open cups, which are placed near the end of a tree branch. Pine Warblers prefer to nest in pine trees, hence their names.

On to my photos:

Pine Warbler

Pine Warbler

Pine Warbler

Pine Warbler

Pine Warbler

Pine Warbler

Pine Warbler

Pine Warbler

Pine Warbler

Pine Warbler

Pine Warbler

Pine Warbler

Pine Warbler

Pine Warbler

Pine Warbler

Pine Warbler

Pine Warbler

Pine Warbler

Pine Warbler

Pine Warbler

Pine Warbler

Pine Warbler

This is number 109 in my photo life list, only 241 to go!

That’s it for this one, thanks for stopping by!

wordpress_logo_post_whenever2

8 responses

  1. Beautiful series of shots. I really liked the one where he’s stretching his neck to get a better look at you (probably not the case, but it seems like it!)

    July 2, 2013 at 10:13 am

    • Thanks Anita, the birds do keep an eye on me!

      July 2, 2013 at 12:59 pm

  2. Looks like he sat still for awhile. (For a change)

    July 3, 2013 at 6:22 am

    • One of those rare things in the birding world.

      July 3, 2013 at 1:03 pm

  3. Good photos! Ive never gotten my camera lens on one yet, I’ll have to keep looking!

    July 6, 2013 at 11:52 pm

    • Thank you! My “trick” was to fool the birds into thinking I was drinking my coffee in the morning, and them grabbing the camera when they had their guard down. 😉

      July 7, 2013 at 7:06 am

  4. I love these little guys. Did your neck hurt after staring up to the sky with him?

    July 8, 2013 at 8:32 pm

    • Thanks, but I walk around looking up all the time, so my neck is used to it now. 😉

      July 9, 2013 at 3:16 am