My adventures in the woods, streams, rivers, fields, and lakes of Michigan

Mid-summer flowers

Another post of flowers that I’ve seen in the past few days while out for my daily walk. I’m no expert when it comes to identifying flowers or plants, so I hope that I have these right, the ones that I did ID that is.

Sweat pea and knapweed

Sweat pea and knapweed

Teasel

Teasel

Pokeweed "fruit"

Pokeweed “fruit”

Sedum???

Swamp milkweed

IMG_8421

Blue Vervain?

Teasel

Teasel

Teasel

Teasel

Thistle

Thistle

Purple loosestrife and bee

Purple loosestrife and bee

Teasel

Teasel

Teasel

Teasel

Thistle

Thistle

Harebell?

Harebell?

Black eyed Susan

Black eyed Susan

???

Evening primrose

???

Hairy Sunflower???

Day lily

Day lily

Day lily

Day lily

???

???

Bee balm

Bee balm

Double tiger lily?

Double tiger lily?

Double tiger lily?

Double tiger lily?

Soapwort

Soapwort

Phlox

Phlox

Michigan lily

Michigan lily

Michigan lily

Michigan lily

Michigan lily

Michigan lily

Michigan lily

Michigan lily

Michigan lily

Michigan lily

Michigan lily

Michigan lily

Purple loosestrife

Purple loosestrife

Hawkweed family?

Hawkweed family?

Chicory and Queen Anne's Lace

Chicory and Queen Anne’s Lace

That’s it for this one, thanks for stopping by!

15 responses

  1. It could be a local thing, but your Michigan lily is what we call a Tiger lily around here.

    July 21, 2013 at 12:32 am

    • Thanks, I had no idea that there was a flower called the Michigan lily until a few weeks ago, but that’s the “official” name for those. Here’s a link to the Wikipedia article about them. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lilium_michiganense

      July 21, 2013 at 7:49 am

  2. Nice post! We were bicycling in Michigan a few weeks ago and were fortunate enough to see some Showy Lady slippers by the edge of the road!

    July 21, 2013 at 6:33 am

    • Thank’s for the comment! Michigan is a great place to find flowers, and many other things as well. Hope that you enjoyed you cycling trip.

      July 21, 2013 at 7:52 am

  3. Good capture of those dog-day blooms!

    July 21, 2013 at 7:42 am

    • Thank you, I try.

      July 21, 2013 at 7:45 am

  4. You’ve come a long way with your flower IDs Jerry! I’m not sure about the sedum but that is definitely blue vervain.
    The bee flying into the purple loosestrife is a great shot. The flower that you wonder about being harebell looks like one.
    I like the teasel shots-it doesn’t grow here. The double orange dayliles are amazing too-you don’t see many of those. I’m not sure about that yellow flower that looks like hawkweed-I can’t think of anything that big that looks like hawkweed, other than dandelion. I wonder if it is a dwarf dandelion (Krigia virginica)?
    The unknown purple flowers look like they’re in the pea family. they might be slender milk vetch (Astragalus flexuosus)
    Great shots of the Michigan lily!

    July 21, 2013 at 9:40 am

    • Thanks, I put some work into IDing those! I’m not sure about the sedum either, that’s one of those where I should have looked up the family name, for I think that those flowers are in the same family as sedum, but probably aren’t true sedum. As far as the hawkweed, the flower wasn’t that big, I did a lot of cropping to make it look larger. 😉 But it may not be hawkweed either, it’s not like there aren’t dozens of small yellow flowers this time of year.

      I have a hard enough time with plants as it is, but there’s a nursery right down the street from me, and many of these were shot on the border with their property. I never know if I am seeing wildflowers, or flowers that have “escaped” the nursery.

      July 21, 2013 at 3:55 pm

      • I think they are all wildflowers, but I might have misled you about the harebell. It could also be creeping bellflower (Campanula rapunculoides.) They look a lot alike.

        July 21, 2013 at 6:13 pm

  5. I don’t care what the plants are, I just like looking at your very nice pictures of the, Thank you for the show.

    July 21, 2013 at 4:53 pm

    • Thanks, I didn’t used to put any names on the flower photos, but commentors had a fit about that. But, those who did din’t stick around long anyway.

      July 21, 2013 at 5:21 pm

  6. I just love the purple day lilly. All the photos are wonderful.

    Might the Hawkweed be Coltsfoot ? It blooms very early in spring here in Nova Scotia. It’s particularly interesting as it blooms before the leaves come out at all.

    BTW, I found you via Kathy’s blog.

    July 21, 2013 at 8:10 pm

    • Thanks, both for the nice comment, and for the suggestion as to what the yellow flower is. However, it’s too late in the year for coltsfoot, and the plant was too tall, it does look similar though.

      July 21, 2013 at 8:33 pm

  7. Great job with the ID’s. The sedum is a milkweed, I think. You may have common & swamp where you are – it could be one of those. Did you know they’re host plants for Monarch butterflies? If you ID a milkweed, check under the leaves for tiny eggs, and later in the summer for a chrysalis or a caterpillar – the Monarch one is distinctive. Hawkweed – yes – I think there are a lot of them so leave it at that! Harebell – yes. I love blue vervain, and I never used to see very often around metro NY. One thing you did see though was fields (or at least roadsides) full of chicory mixed with Queen Anne’s Lace, always a pretty sight. Well, you can see I enjoyed this post!

    July 21, 2013 at 8:28 pm

    • Thank you! The sedum is a swamp milkweed, which I had never heard of before. I am very familiar with the common milkweed and monarch butterflies, as they are everywhere around here.

      July 21, 2013 at 8:37 pm