My adventures in the woods, streams, rivers, fields, and lakes of Michigan

Should I? Or shouldn’t I?

I have been thinking of changing themes, so that I can post larger versions of my photos here. I like the current theme, and it may not always look like it, but I’ve chosen which photos to post at times to go with the theme that I’ve been using. If all my old posts retained the old theme, I think that it would be much easier for me to make the switch.

There is another option as well, that is to start a new blog using a theme better suited for the photos that I take these days right from the beginning. That would also give me a fresh start as far as how much space I have to upload photos without having to pay WordPress for my blog. I’m rapidly closing in on 50% of the allotted space that I get for free. It will be easy enough for the people who regularly read my blog to make the switch, as I would post links here to the new one for them to follow.

So, I thought to myself, “Why not do a poll and let my readers decide?” so that’s the reason for this post. I’ve set the time limit for the poll to one week, and after that week, I’ll go with the results of the poll.

That’s it for this one, thanks for taking the time to vote!

17 responses

  1. Interestingly enough I’ve been thinking of switching, too. Not because of the space requirement, but because I’d like to do some drop down menus and I don’t think my theme supports them….. but I’m really happy with the way my images look at the current blog. I’ve been deleting quite a few of my earlier so-so posts instead.

    August 15, 2013 at 4:18 pm

    • Thanks, some of the newer themes do have many more features as well as displaying photos better.

      August 16, 2013 at 2:08 am

  2. Miriam

    I voted start a new blog, but just switching themes is a good idea too. I’ve done both a couple of times- and I am always open to doing it again. In fact I’m thinking about a new theme right now, I guess I get bored after a while. Mine is not a photo-rich blog but I do post pics and want a theme that does pictures a little better. Also, it’s so easy to check out new themes.
    The only thing I’ve ever done that I regretted was completely deleting a blog. I had it for about a year and I still don’t know why I didn’t just make it private instead of getting rid of it all together 😦
    I think people will follow you at a new blog as long as you make it easy for them to find it.

    August 15, 2013 at 5:19 pm

    • Thanks. I’d never delete my blog or even any of the posts or photos. Some of the newer themes also support more features, which I won’t know if I want to use them until I try them.

      August 16, 2013 at 2:10 am

  3. I’ve voted but it was a secret vote.

    August 15, 2013 at 6:13 pm

    • Thanks, your secret is safe with me.

      August 16, 2013 at 2:10 am

  4. I know a blogger who, before he quit altogether, changed themes a few times and he said that there are hiccups, but with a little fussing it can be done. Apparently your old posts can get discombobulated.

    August 15, 2013 at 6:56 pm

    • Thanks Allen, I did a quick test, and it may or may not be easy to change themes. I always wondered how discombobulated was spelled. 😉

      August 16, 2013 at 2:12 am

  5. If you think larger pics would better convey your message go for it. The only drawback would be that you well have to assure that the pics you use still look good in the larger format.

    August 15, 2013 at 8:25 pm

    • Thanks Robert, I don’t think that a larger format will be a problem. I’m doing less cropping than ever, and the photos are so much better than I used to get from my old camera.

      August 16, 2013 at 2:14 am

  6. Maybe you could try out the new blog concept and if it doesn’t work, you could always go back to the old one? I think it can be very refreshing to try something new rather than trying to retrofit the old one. And maybe you can add a widget to the old site that points people who missed the switch to the new blog? Just some thoughts… good luck with your decision!

    August 16, 2013 at 4:02 am

    • Thanks Lori! I have a couple of other blogs that I very seldom post to that I’ve been playing with. I know that it would be easy to direct people to a new blog if I start one, but the thought also occurred to me that if I started one now, I’d have to do a lot of work transferring all the pages and posts that I’ve done for my photo life list to a new blog.

      August 16, 2013 at 9:30 am

      • That’s true…you know, the life list concept is really almost a blog in itself…maybe it deserves it’s own platform? 🙂 (I know, I know, like you have all this extra time!!!) Well, just let us know what you decide & we’ll check it out.

        August 17, 2013 at 10:10 am

      • Thanks! I did start another blog of just the species of birds, but, then I had to put up with twice as many drive by likes and follows, plus post to two blogs. It was a pain. What I will do however, is once I get farther along, is wipe out the old posts in the other blog, then export the posts from the series to that blog.

        August 18, 2013 at 12:25 pm

      • Yeah, I would imagine birding gets a bunch of spam–probably like cats or dogs. Ducks…not so much! (Ooops, I hope I didn’t just jinx it!)

        August 19, 2013 at 3:11 am

  7. I’ve only been blogging for a few months and when I started with wordpress, I had absolutely no idea what I was doing, so I really didn’t even know how to pick a theme. I didn’t know how to explore the different options of the different themes. I had no idea that photos look better on certain themes than they do on others. This has all been a huge learning curve for me, and I’m pretty slow at it. So, I’m excited for you, whatever decision you make. You have the spirit of adventure, so you will succeed however you decide to switch. And you know you have plenty of loyal followers who will find your blog!

    August 17, 2013 at 10:06 am

    • Thank you! Photos generally look better against a darker background, I’m not sure why that it. But, blogging, like most things in life, is a learning process. I tried two other blogging platforms before deciding on WordPress, so I had a slightly better idea what I was doing.

      August 18, 2013 at 12:23 pm