My adventures in the woods, streams, rivers, fields, and lakes of Michigan

Yet another Muskegon birding trip Part II

On Saturday August 17th, I made yet another trip to Muskegon to do some birding. The difference between this trip and all of my others is that this time I wasn’t alone. This was a field trip put on by the Muskegon County Nature Club, which I am thinking of joining.

After this trip, I’m not sure that I am cut out for group birding yet. I also found out that there is a Grand Rapids group that is very similar, so I think that I should check it out as well.

On to the photos!

Greater yellowlegs

Greater yellowlegs

Killdeer

Killdeer

Pectoral sandpiper

Pectoral sandpiper

Two least sandpipers and a Baird's sandpiper

Two least sandpipers and a Baird’s sandpiper

Least sandpiper

Least sandpiper

Yet another lifer for me, Wilson’s Phararopes.

Wilson's Phararopes

Wilson’s Phararopes

Wilson's Phararopes in flight

Wilson’s Phararopes in flight

I’m not sure what was going on here, but the Great blue heron and the gulls seemed to be performing a ballet.

Heron and gull ballet

Heron and gull ballet

Heron and gull ballet

Heron and gull ballet

Heron and gull ballet

Heron and gull ballet

Heron and gull ballet

Heron and gull ballet

Turkey vulture in flight

Turkey vulture in flight

Another lifer for me, Nelson’s sparrows.

Nelson's sparrow

Nelson’s sparrow

Sandhill crane

Sandhill crane

Sandhill cranes in flight

Sandhill cranes in flight

And to show you that I can shoot something other than birds, I present this one for your consideration.

Reflections on a great day

Reflections on a great day

But even a reflection shot looks better with a bird in it. 😉

Bonaparte's gull in flight

Bonaparte’s gull in flight

At least four lifers for me, I lost count, and better photos of many of the species that I’ve already photographed, it was an excellent day!

That’s it for this one, thanks for stopping by!

18 responses

  1. Just beautiful pics!

    August 19, 2013 at 2:34 pm

    • Thank you!

      August 20, 2013 at 3:16 am

  2. That last shot is fantastic!

    August 19, 2013 at 3:36 pm

    • Thanks, just the last one? 😉

      August 20, 2013 at 3:16 am

      • The others are excellent, but the last one really grabs me. That’s just my opinion though, for what it’s worth,

        August 20, 2013 at 6:17 am

      • Sorry, my last comment was meant as a joke. I haven’t stooped to fishing for compliments yet.

        August 20, 2013 at 8:40 am

  3. Don’t know if it’s the new theme, or the subjects, or what… but you’re really kicking it up several notches. Part of it could also be my love of shore birds in particular. The heron ballet was pretty amazing!

    August 19, 2013 at 5:46 pm

  4. Brilliant heron ballet.

    August 19, 2013 at 6:06 pm

    • Thanks, but the gulls had at least a supporting role.

      August 20, 2013 at 3:19 am

  5. Wow, these are excellent! The sandpipers could be used for an ID book – they’re so perfectly posed and clearly chot. Didn’t you love the buoyancy of he phalaropes? I’ve only seen them a few times, but I love their delicate lightness on the water. The heron/gull shots are a very nice group. And speaking of groups, birding groups do have their pluses and minuses, but I don’t have to tell you that. I had good times when I was much, much younger on a few field trips that helped me skill-wise, but the competitive atmosphere I saw in birders on the east coast later really put me off from joining any group after that.

    August 19, 2013 at 10:11 pm

    • Thank you! I’d never been birding with a group before, I found that I had a lot to learn, more than just identifying the birds.

      August 20, 2013 at 3:22 am

  6. Great photos, you have to be proud of a result like that.

    August 19, 2013 at 11:14 pm

    • Thanks Charlie!

      August 20, 2013 at 3:21 am

  7. Really love the new look of the blog!

    August 22, 2013 at 4:07 am

    • Thank you! It took a little playing, but I think that this will work well.

      August 22, 2013 at 9:21 am

  8. Pingback: My Week, baby steps. | Quiet Solo Pursuits

  9. LOVE the shots of the heron/gull ballet! I’ll bet that was beautiful to watch!

    August 27, 2013 at 6:55 pm

    • Thanks, that was one of those times that I wished that I had shot video!

      August 28, 2013 at 2:26 am