My adventures in the woods, streams, rivers, fields, and lakes of Michigan

Muskegon birding trip, the leftovers

On Sunday August 25th, I made yet another trip to Muskegon to do some birding. I have already published one post of mostly photos from this trip, but I have quite a few left over that I would like to share, both shorebirds, and a few from around Lost Lake later in the day.

At one point during the day, I sat in the rocks along the bank of one of the lagoons at the Muskegon County wastewater treatment facility and let the various shorebirds come to me. That worked very well, as I was able to get many good close-ups of the shorebirds that way. My biggest problem was getting just one species of bird in the shot at a time, well, besides trying to ID the shorebirds, so I have a number of photos with two or more species in my photos. I’m going to post a few of those, and I’m not going to ID the birds in these photos.

Shorebird

Shorebird

Shorebird in flight

Shorebird in flight

Shorebirds

Shorebirds

Shorebirds

Shorebirds

Shorebirds

Shorebirds

Shorebirds

Shorebirds

Shorebirds

Shorebirds

Shorebirds

Shorebirds

Shorebirds

Shorebirds

I shot a series of photos of a shorebird bathing that I have yet to positively identify. It should be easy, since the bird has a slightly upturned bill, but so far, no luck. But, the photos are fun, so I’m including them here.

Shorebird bath

Shorebird bath

Shorebird bath

Shorebird bath

Shorebird bath

Shorebird bath

Shorebird bath

Shorebird bath

And now, a few from the time that I spent at Lost Lake in Muskegon State Park.

Dragonfly

Dragonfly

Cardinal flowers

Cardinal flowers

Unidentified fungal object

Unidentified fungal object

IMG_1127

Unidentified warbler

I have to give a shout out to my Canon 60 D and the Sigma 150-500 mm lens after the shot of the warbler. The warbler was in deep shade, but I had the camera pointed almost directly at the sun for that shot. The photo may not be great, but that camera/lens combination continues to amaze me as far as what I can get under extremely difficult conditions!

Unidentified flowering object

ladies tresses (Spiranthes,)

Unidentified flowering object

Unidentified flowering object

Unidentified flowering object

Unidentified flowering object

Unidentified fungal object

Unidentified fungal object

Unidentified fungal object

Unidentified fungal object

Unidentified fungal object

Unidentified fungal object

I feel a bit guilty for not identifying most of what I am posting, but you’ll have to take pity on me, please. I’ve shot over 400 photos of about twenty species of shorebirds in the last two weeks, and I’m still working to ID a few of the species that I’ve photographed. For the most part, they all look the same, small brownish birds with long bills. The differences between some species is minimal, so I’ve had my work cut out for me. I have most of them done, but I’m IDed out right now.

That’s it for this one, thanks for stopping by!

18 responses

  1. Your unidentified small white flowers look like ladies tresses (Spiranthes,) which are orchids, so that’s a great find! They kind of corkscrew up a central stem. The orange fungi are some type of jelly fungus. I’d call them hust orange jelly fungi. The small pinkish flowers look like steeple bush but they might also be meadow sweet. The flower head is quite long to be either of those though, so I can’t be positive.
    Those shorebirds do look almost the same and I’m very glad that I’m not the one trying to ID them!

    August 27, 2013 at 10:49 am

    • Thank you!!

      Whew, that makes it worth the effort that I put into the shot of the ladies tresses. Finding an angle to show them well was tough, then I had to do a lot of landscaping to get as clear of a shot as I did. Since none of the plants there at Lost Lake seem to be everyday common plants, I didn’t want to rip the ones in my way out, or damage them in any way, so I had to get creative to keep them out of view, but not damage them, while being careful where I stepped and knelt.

      The shorebirds are getting slightly easier for me, but there are still half a dozen that I have to look up to be sure of my ID.

      August 27, 2013 at 12:32 pm

  2. Mona

    Great shots….

    August 27, 2013 at 11:02 am

    • Thank you Mona!

      August 27, 2013 at 12:32 pm

  3. Must say once more. I love the way the colors and images sparkle with this new theme. Magnificent shooting. Shorebirds are definitely difficult to ID. I’m working at it slowly.

    August 27, 2013 at 4:57 pm

    • Thank you, I like this theme much better than the first one, and I think that it works well for both text and photos.

      August 28, 2013 at 2:19 am

  4. Unidentified fungal objects eh? Life is full of them.

    August 27, 2013 at 6:16 pm

    • Yes it is, and as far as I’m concerned, it may remain that way. I have enough trouble with birds and flowers to tackle fungi too.

      August 28, 2013 at 2:21 am

  5. I *think* that warbler is a Magnolia Warbler. For the shorebirds, you’re on your own! Beautiful shots, as always. Loving (and envying) your new camera set-up. It’s really letting you showcase how good you are at nature photography!

    August 27, 2013 at 6:40 pm

    • Thanks Jan. I knew what to do when I used the Nikon, but it wouldn’t do what I told it to.

      August 28, 2013 at 2:24 am

  6. For some reason I have not been getting my e-mail notifications of new posts for any of the blogs I regularly follow, so I missed a couple of yours. I’m trying to catch back up. I enjoyed that series of the shore bird bathing! Looks like such a great place to hang out for awhile – you saw some great birds!

    August 28, 2013 at 2:56 pm

    • Thanks, I can’t tell you why you’re not receiving notifications, but I’ve had them come slow at times. It was a good day, I escaped the heat and came home with some good photos.

      August 29, 2013 at 2:11 am

  7. OMG ! What amazing shorebird images you captured. I wish I knew which one was which. But one of those shots have several in it. I’ll share this and see if anyone can id them for us. 🙂

    September 1, 2013 at 5:27 pm

    • Thanks, and thanks for the offer to help. I have just one left to ID of all the shots that I took. It took me three weeks, but I did it.

      September 1, 2013 at 5:33 pm

      • OH awesome ! Can’t wait to hear what they are.

        September 1, 2013 at 5:42 pm

      • Thanks, those photos will show up in posts over the next few weeks or months. I didn’t want to do another dump of shorebirds that all look the same, even if they’re not.

        September 1, 2013 at 5:58 pm

  8. I discovered your blog this morning via a comment on one of Blue Brightly’s recents posts. Shooting wildlife is not my strength but I’ve found a handful of your recents posts fascinating, like this one, because I grew up a few minutes away from where a lot of these pictures were taken! At any rate, I really like a lot of the explanations of your shooting….. your conversational-like style of writing is really enjoyable to read.

    September 11, 2013 at 2:36 pm

    • Wow, thank you for all the very nice compliments! I’m headed to work now, but I hope to check out more of your posts, as I enjoyed the one that I had time to read.

      September 11, 2013 at 2:47 pm