My adventures in the woods, streams, rivers, fields, and lakes of Michigan

From the road

As you may know, I drive truck for a living. It’s the most boring job that I’ve ever had, the one redeeming quality besides the fact that I get a paycheck is that at least I’m not stuck inside all the time the way that I was in any other line of work that I’ve done.

I’ve seen quite a few spectacular sunsets while driving, and some impressive storms. For a while, I carried my Canon Powershot compact digital camera along with me, hoping for some good photos. I’ve never gotten any photos of the sunsets, but I do have a few cloud photos that I’ve been able to get, like this thunderstorm building up.

Cumulus cloud

This storm is just beginning to form.

The storm cloud building

The storm cloud is still in the building stage and hasn’t become organized yet.

The updraft begins to take hold

And continues to build.

Getting organized around a central updraft, and the anvil begins to form

There are often other clouds associated with a cumulonimbus cloud that have names, but darned if I can remember them, or find a website that details all the parts of a thunderstorm now that I want to find one. But you can see a “ring” forming around the thunderstorm at the mid-level of the cumulonimbus cloud.

The storm continues to build

Until it builds to a full-blown thunderstorm.

Fully formed cumulonimbus cloud, or thunderstorm

A close up of the anvil.

The anvil of a thunderstorm

It may continue to grow.

A still growing thunderstorm

But then after the storm, a ray of hope.

A ray of hope

Here are a few other storm clouds that I’ve shot while working.

Storm clouds

Storm clouds

Storm clouds

Storm clouds

Storm clouds

Storm clouds

Storm clouds

Storm clouds

Storm clouds

Storm clouds

Storm clouds

Storm clouds

Storm clouds

Storm clouds

When I get really lucky, I see a rainbow.

Rainbow

Rainbow

Rainbow

Rainbow

Rainbow

Rainbow

I know that these photos aren’t great, but I couldn’t bring myself to delete them despite the poor quality, and the distractions in them.

One of these days I’ll get some good shots of storms using my good camera, but until then, these will have to do.

That’s it for this one, thanks for stopping by!

5 responses

  1. We saw these here yesterday and were pounded by pouring rain and thunder for hours. 3-6 inches of rain in less than 24 hours!

    September 13, 2013 at 6:45 am

    • Round 2 may be headed your way for today.

      September 13, 2013 at 8:13 am

  2. You drive in interesting times. Great cloudscapes. You’ll have to stop saying that your photos aren’t great. It isn’t true.

    September 13, 2013 at 7:07 pm

    • Thanks. I was 15 minutes late one time while I was driving over the road, and my dispatcher was giving me grief for it. I told him that tornadoes always slow me down, he didn’t think that was funny. I wouldn’t call many of my photos great, a few are from time to time. Most are just good.

      September 14, 2013 at 2:49 am

      • Just good is good.

        September 14, 2013 at 12:56 pm