My adventures in the woods, streams, rivers, fields, and lakes of Michigan

My vacation in the UP, Sunrise, sunset

Sorting through all the photos I shot last week is a chore, a lot less fun that shooting them in the first place. 😉

I have a number that weren’t taken at any big name location, these will be of the sunset and sunset photos that I shot at the small campgrounds that I stayed in, or while on the road in the evening. I hope that you enjoy them.

I’ll start with two sunset photos that I shot while eating supper in a county park in Negaunee, Michigan.

Sunset over Teal Lake, Negaunee, Michigan

Sunset over Teal Lake, Negaunee, Michigan

Sunset over Teal Lake, Negaunee, Michigan

Sunset over Teal Lake, Negaunee, Michigan

Next up is a series of a sunrise that I shot at Emily’s Lake State Forest Campground, which is south of Houghton, Michigan.

Sunrise over Emily's Lake, south of Houghton, Michigan

Sunrise over Emily’s Lake, south of Houghton, Michigan

Sunrise over Emily's Lake, south of Houghton, Michigan

Sunrise over Emily’s Lake, south of Houghton, Michigan

Sunrise over Emily's Lake, south of Houghton, Michigan

Sunrise over Emily’s Lake, south of Houghton, Michigan

Sunrise over Emily's Lake, south of Houghton, Michigan

Sunrise over Emily’s Lake, south of Houghton, Michigan

Sunrise over Emily's Lake, south of Houghton, Michigan

Sunrise over Emily’s Lake, south of Houghton, Michigan

Sunrise over Emily's Lake, south of Houghton, Michigan

Sunrise over Emily’s Lake, south of Houghton, Michigan

Sunrise over Emily's Lake, south of Houghton, Michigan

Sunrise over Emily’s Lake, south of Houghton, Michigan

I wanted fall foliage shots, this was close to the best I could do.

On M69 in the middle of no where

On M69 in the middle of no where

That is, until I shot these three of a haymarsh along US 2, somewhere west of Escanaba, Michigan.

On US 2 west of Escanaba, Michigan

On US 2 west of Escanaba, Michigan

On US 2 west of Escanaba, Michigan

On US 2 west of Escanaba, Michigan

On US 2 west of Escanaba, Michigan

On US 2 west of Escanaba, Michigan

For this next series, I shot a sunrise over a bay on Lake Michigan, at Portage Bay State Forest Campground. I really like this series, it isn’t the greatest sunrise, but I pivoted the tripod back and forth to catch the sun as it rose over the lake. As the sun would peek a little higher over the lake, I would pivot the camera on the tripod and catch the sunshine as it struck the plants and trees on the shoreline. A time-lapse of sorts, that I am especially proud of. It isn’t the most beautiful sunrise ever captured on camera, but I think that I did a great job of showing how quickly and how much the lighting changes during a sunrise.

Sunrise over Portage Bay (Lake Michigan) east of Garden, Michigan

Sunrise over Portage Bay (Lake Michigan) east of Garden, Michigan

Sunrise over Portage Bay (Lake Michigan) east of Garden, Michigan

Sunrise over Portage Bay (Lake Michigan) east of Garden, Michigan

Sunrise over Portage Bay (Lake Michigan) east of Garden, Michigan

Sunrise over Portage Bay (Lake Michigan) east of Garden, Michigan

Sunrise over Portage Bay (Lake Michigan) east of Garden, Michigan

Sunrise over Portage Bay (Lake Michigan) east of Garden, Michigan

Sunrise over Portage Bay (Lake Michigan) east of Garden, Michigan

Sunrise over Portage Bay (Lake Michigan) east of Garden, Michigan

Sunrise over Portage Bay (Lake Michigan) east of Garden, Michigan

Sunrise over Portage Bay (Lake Michigan) east of Garden, Michigan

Sunrise over Portage Bay (Lake Michigan) east of Garden, Michigan

Sunrise over Portage Bay (Lake Michigan) east of Garden, Michigan

Sunrise over Portage Bay (Lake Michigan) east of Garden, Michigan

Sunrise over Portage Bay (Lake Michigan) east of Garden, Michigan

Sunrise over Portage Bay (Lake Michigan) east of Garden, Michigan

Sunrise over Portage Bay (Lake Michigan) east of Garden, Michigan

There have been times in my life when I’ve considered relocating to another part of the country, but you know what? Those thoughts have come to an end. I am truly blessed to live in Michigan!

The political and business climate isn’t always the best here, but one thing remains constant, access to some of nature’s most beautiful scenery and wildlife. The residents of Michigan have always placed a high value on not only preserving the natural beauty of the state, but also providing access to nature, which is why Michigan has more public land than any other state east of the Mississippi River, and why our system of state parks and forests is the largest in the country.

I was the only person staying in Portage Bay Campground that night and morning, but, there were plenty of other eyes that saw this sunrise….

Gull at sunrise

Gull at sunrise

Gull at sunrise

Gull at sunrise

Gull at sunrise

Gull at sunrise

Gull at sunrise

Gull at sunrise

Flaming gull

Flaming gull

…not only were there gulls….

The eagle is landing

The eagle is landing

I hate to brag, but having two camera bodies sure came in handy on this morning! While one was set up on the tripod for the sunrise landscapes, I was shooting the gulls and eagle with the other with the Beast attached to it.

That goes along with a shot from the highlight post I did, of an eagle flying over Emily’s Lake as I was setting up to do that series of sunrise photos. Two sunrises, two bad eagle photos, and there’s more to come in future posts as well. But, how cool is it when you can be standing on a beautiful beach all alone, watching a beautiful sunrise, and see eagles flying over with regularity? I do love Michigan!

Here’s a link to part one of the series of posts on my vacation to Michigan’s Upper Peninsula.

That’s it for this one, thanks for stopping by!

22 responses

  1. Gorgeous shots. Looks like you had a wonderful, though perhaps the most restful, vacation.

    September 29, 2013 at 12:11 am

    • Thanks, it was a great week!

      September 29, 2013 at 6:38 am

  2. Such beautiful light. I love the color of the sky in the flying gull shots. Your fall color seems to be about even with where we are right now. I’d say the vacation was a great one, and I think you’d be sorely disappointed if you left Michigan and wanted to find the kind of scenery you have there.

    September 29, 2013 at 7:52 am

    • Thanks Allen! It’s hard to remember that when I’ve just seen a post that some one has done while RVing in the Canyonlands National Park. But, I’d miss the trees and water of Michigan if I lived in such a place for any time at all.

      September 29, 2013 at 8:43 am

  3. The eagle shot gives me the chills…

    September 29, 2013 at 8:25 am

    • Thanks, one of those lucky moments when I was in the right place at the right time with the right lens.

      September 29, 2013 at 8:44 am

  4. Hey, some of these places look familiar! We are lucky to live in Michigan, aren’t we? We tried living in Texas once and came hightailing it back to the UP faster than you can imagine. Have never been to Emily Lake. South of Houghton sounds like “our neck of the woods” but will have to Google its location. So glad you were able to get away and enjoy the UP and share it with so many others.

    September 29, 2013 at 2:34 pm

    • Thank you Kathy, I thought that a few places would look familiar. Yes, we are lucky to live in Michigan, but you can keep your 300 inches of snow each winter. 😉

      September 29, 2013 at 2:40 pm

  5. Ah, fall in Michigan….beautiful.

    September 29, 2013 at 6:08 pm

    • Thanks, but I missed the best color by two weeks.

      September 29, 2013 at 7:14 pm

  6. I am glad to see that you were working hard while on holiday. All the better for us readers.

    September 29, 2013 at 6:51 pm

    • Thanks, I play harder than I work, ask my boss.

      September 29, 2013 at 7:15 pm

  7. Those sunset shots are GORGEOUS! And that eagle shot? Frame that one. It’s breathtaking!

    September 29, 2013 at 10:33 pm

    • Thanks Jan, one of these days I’ll get an even better shot of an eagle.

      September 30, 2013 at 12:55 am

  8. Pingback: My vacation in the UP, the bridges | Quiet Solo Pursuits

  9. Pingback: My vacation in the UP, Tahquamenon Falls State Park | Quiet Solo Pursuits

  10. Pingback: My vacation in the UP, Pictured Rocks National Lakeshore by land | Quiet Solo Pursuits

  11. Pingback: My vacation in the UP, Pictured Rocks National Lakeshore by boat | Quiet Solo Pursuits

  12. I have my own lake ? I didn’t know !! I need to get out there and visit it really soon. Especially with these stunning sunrises, and changing colors in the trees. The gull in the sunrise ! STELLAR !!

    October 6, 2013 at 6:54 pm

    • Thanks, and yes, you do have your own lake in the middle of nowhere, with eagles flying over otters as they fish.

      October 6, 2013 at 9:23 pm

  13. Pingback: My vacation in the UP, Porcupine Mountains | Quiet Solo Pursuits

  14. Pingback: My vacation in the UP, Fayette Historic State Park | Quiet Solo Pursuits