My adventures in the woods, streams, rivers, fields, and lakes of Michigan

Ice, Ice, Snow, Baby

Starting on the evening of Friday, December 20, 2013, and continuing until early morning on Sunday, we were hit with intermittent freezing rain and drizzle, which built up on just about everything around here. So, while doing my daily walk around the area both on Saturday and Sunday, I shot quite a few photos, and I’m going to share a few (dozen). It’s been a while since I’ve done a photo dump post, so here goes!

Ice covered

Ice covered

Fused in ice

Fused in ice

White pine

White pine

Oak leaf

Oak leaf

Milkweed pod shedding its ice cover

Milkweed pod shedding its ice cover

Selfie

Selfie

Crystal red

Crystal red

More ice on a white pine

More ice on a white pine

Still more ice on a white pine

Still more ice on a white pine

Ice on a lichen covered fence post

Ice on a lichen covered fence post

Queen Anne's Lace

Queen Anne’s Lace

Sumac

Sumac

Sumac

Sumac

Crystaline

crystalline

Milkweed seed pod

Milkweed seed pod

Milkweed seed pod

Milkweed seed pod

Milkweed seed pod

Milkweed seed pod

Pokeweed seeds

Pokeweed seeds

Asters

Asters

More crystals

More crystals

More crystals

More crystals

Air bubbles in ice

Air bubbles in ice

Coated

Coated

On Sunday morning, it began to snow as I started my walk, which covered everything that had already been covered in ice with snow.

The ice storm came

The ice storm came

The ice storm came

The ice storm came

The ice storm came

The ice storm came

The ice storm came

The ice storm came

Ice on lichen covered tree bark

Ice on lichen covered tree bark

The ice storm came

The ice storm came

Not edited, this is the way everything looked

Not edited, this is the way everything looked

The ice storm came

The ice storm came

The ice storm came

The ice storm came

Berries

Berries

Maple

Maple

Blue spruce

Blue spruce

Pine cones

Pine cones

The ice storm came

The ice storm came

The ice storm came

The ice storm came

The ice storm came

The ice storm came

The ice storm came

The ice storm came

The ice storm came

The ice storm came

The ice storm came

The ice storm came

The ice storm came

The ice storm came

The ice storm came

The ice storm came

The ice storm came

The ice storm came

The ice storm came

The ice storm came

Sycamore

Sycamore

More ice and snow

More ice and snow

That’s it for this one, thanks for stopping by!

22 responses

  1. I was thinking of you as I watched the evening news…..yep, lots of ice. Hope it warms up for you. I know it can’t be fun for you having to drive on iced over roads. Merry Christmas 🙂 I’ll send you some Phoenix sunshine!

    December 22, 2013 at 7:27 pm

    • Thanks, I’d rather have the sunshine, as I don’t mind the cold that much. It’s the weeks on end of cloudy skies that gets to me in the winter.

      December 22, 2013 at 8:03 pm

  2. Loved all the icy shots, but the Queen Anne’s Lace was particularly artistic. Meanwhile here in the coast, it’s finally warming up. Today was in the higher 50s. I’ll see if I can push some of it your way.

    December 22, 2013 at 7:41 pm

    • Thanks, both for the compliment, and for trying to send warmer air this way!

      December 22, 2013 at 7:44 pm

  3. I love it! So beautiful! I’m glad you posted all of these, I enjoyed each one.

    December 22, 2013 at 8:10 pm

    • Thank you Neita!

      December 22, 2013 at 9:57 pm

  4. Anonymous

    Beauty everywhere- great shots!

    December 22, 2013 at 8:30 pm

    • Thank you very much!

      December 22, 2013 at 10:00 pm

  5. All beautiful shots – I just love the patterns and composition in “Air Bubbles in Ice”. Stay safe while you’re out and about!

    December 22, 2013 at 10:09 pm

    • Thanks Judy!

      December 22, 2013 at 11:12 pm

  6. Some look so much like lace. They’re all gorgeous shots. Reminds me of when we lived in Northern Germany… brrrrr! ~SueBee

    December 23, 2013 at 1:52 am

    • Thanks, I hadn’t thought of it, but the weather here would be similar to northern Europe.

      December 23, 2013 at 9:09 am

  7. I am surprised that your camera didn’t freeze up. Do you have a cover for it in sub zero temperatures? Beautiful shots.

    December 23, 2013 at 5:09 am

    • Thanks Tom. I eyed the waterproof covers that Canon sells, but at $100 + each, there’s no way I can afford one right now. The L series lens that I have is weather sealed, and supposedly built for use in foul weather. When it is just cold with no precipitation, I carry the camera and lens as if it were summer. However, when it’s snowing or raining, I do a bad thing and and carry them inside my parka, which I wouldn’t recommend to any one.

      December 23, 2013 at 9:15 am

  8. I KNEW you would come thru with some beautiful shots. As John, Jezzy, and I were patrolling our neighborhood on foot yesterday, I said to him, “I cant wait to see what quietsolopursuits makes of this storm.” We searched our neighborhood in vain for the source our power outage (estimated time of service restoration 12/26 at 11:30pm!) Getting a bit chilly in here, but we’re going to stick it out. Merry Christmas

    December 23, 2013 at 8:49 am

    • Good luck holding on through the power outage, I hope that Consumers is able to get it back on ahead of “schedule”. Days like yesterday are easy to get great photos, all one needs is a camera for the most part.

      December 23, 2013 at 9:19 am

  9. I’ve heard about the thousands of people without power there, and am glad that you (apparently) aren’t one of them. We had a similar storm in 2008 and it was one of the most beautiful things that I’ve ever seen, but also terribly destructive. You got some excellent photos-I wish I’d had a camera back then.

    December 23, 2013 at 1:06 pm

    • Well, I would like to think that I could do fairly well during a power outage, I did a few years ago at the other apartment. I have all my camping gear stored inside my apartment, so I have a lantern and other devices for light, a camp stove to cook on, and plenty of warm clothes and a sleeping bag to stay relatively toasty..

      December 23, 2013 at 1:26 pm

  10. You were very brave to venture out in that icy weather. Though I appreciate the beautiful images you have captured of nature encapsulated in ice. Thank you. 🙂

    December 24, 2013 at 9:42 pm

    • Thanks Emily, but other than watching out for falling branches, it was really no big deal.

      December 24, 2013 at 10:58 pm

  11. Creative, gorgeous compositions, Jerry, well done!

    January 1, 2014 at 8:00 pm

    • Thank you Donna!

      January 1, 2014 at 9:33 pm