My adventures in the woods, streams, rivers, fields, and lakes of Michigan

Great Crested Flycatcher, Myiarchus crinitus

Note: this post, while published, is a work in progress, as are all posts in this series, My Photo Life List. My goal is to photograph every species of bird that is seen on a regular basis here in Michigan, working from a list compiled by the Michigan chapter of the Audubon Society. This will be a lifelong project, that I began in January of 2013, and as I shoot better photos of this, or any other species, I will update the post for that species with better photos when I can. While this series is not intended to be a field guide per se, my minimum standard for the photos in this series is that one has to be able to make a positive identification of the species in my photos. The information posted here is from either my observations or the Wikipedia, the online free encyclopedia, however, I have personally shot all the photos appearing in this series.

Great Crested Flycatcher, Myiarchus crinitus

The Great Crested Flycatcher (Myiarchus crinitus) is a large insect-eating bird of the tyrant flycatcher family. It is the most widespread member of the genus, Myiarchus, in North America and is found over most of the eastern and mid-western portions of the continent. It dwells mostly in the treetops and rarely is found on the ground.

Adult Great Crested Flycatchers usually measure between 17–21 cm (6.7–8.3 in) in length with a wingspan of around 34 cm (13 in). This bird usually weighs between 27–40 g (0.95–1.41 oz).

The Great Crested Flycatcher does not display sexual dimorphism. All adults are brownish on the upper-parts with yellow underparts, they have a long rusty brown tail and a bushy crest. Their throat and breast are grey.

Their breeding habitat is deciduous or mixed forests across eastern North America. They nest in a cavity in a tree. Usually a snake skin is included in the lining of the nest, but sometimes a plastic wrapper is substituted.

They wait on a high perch and fly out to catch insects in flight. Sometimes they may be seen hovering to pick food off of vegetation, buildings, and even windows. They also eat fruits and berries.

The call of these birds is a whistled weep.

These birds migrate to Mexico and South America, as well as to Florida and Cuba.

On to my photos:

Great Crested Flycatcher, Myiarchus crinitus

Great Crested Flycatcher, Myiarchus crinitus

Great Crested Flycatcher, Myiarchus crinitus

Great Crested Flycatcher, Myiarchus crinitus

Great Crested Flycatcher, Myiarchus crinitus

Great Crested Flycatcher, Myiarchus crinitus

Great Crested Flycatcher, Myiarchus crinitus

Great Crested Flycatcher, Myiarchus crinitus

Great Crested Flycatcher, Myiarchus crinitus

Great Crested Flycatcher, Myiarchus crinitus

This is number 146 in my photo life list, only 204 to go!

That’s it for this one, thanks for stopping by!

wordpress_logo_post_whenever2

6 responses

  1. Lovely bird!

    February 18, 2014 at 2:42 pm

    • Thank you Victor!

      February 18, 2014 at 3:06 pm

  2. He knew you were behind him taking pictures. Does he only raise his crest when he meets a lady?

    February 18, 2014 at 6:05 pm

    • I have no idea how it got its name. I checked the ID several places and my photos exactly match the photos I see of great crested flycatchers, and they talk about the crest, but I don’t see it either, in my photos or the ID site photos.

      February 19, 2014 at 1:34 am

  3. I’ve never seen one–really lovely!

    February 19, 2014 at 3:11 pm

    • Thanks Lori!

      February 19, 2014 at 3:16 pm