My adventures in the woods, streams, rivers, fields, and lakes of Michigan

A disappointing day

I went to Aman Park today, hoping to catch the trillium bloom at its peak, no such luck! I think that the weather had a lot to do with it. It was raining a little as I left home, and the rain continued until I had almost reached the park. The clouds held on until mid-afternoon, and it was very windy the entire time.

It’s probably just as well that I didn’t find many flowers to photograph, as I would have gotten extremely frustrated by the wind if I had tried to use my macro lens and tripod. I had a hard enough time shooting handheld at high ISO.

But, when I got to the park, I wasn’t sure what I would find. Most of the flowers are down in a valley along Sand Creek, and I was hoping that the wind wouldn’t be as much of a problem in the shelter of the bluffs above the creek. So, I loaded everything up and set off down the trail. The farther I went, the worse it looked as far as no flowers open, and sure enough, I got down to where the trillium are present in huge numbers, and all I could see were buds. I wandered around a little and had a difficult time finding any flowers that were open of any species. I can’t say for sure, but it looks like almost all of the early spring flowers close up at night and open in sunshine, as I couldn’t even find spring beauties or trout lily open, and they’ve been blooming for almost two weeks.

So, I turned around, went back to my vehicle, and put the second body, macro lens, and tripod back in it, then set off the other direction to look for birds.

I didn’t have much luck with birds either, other than a few bad photos of the same species as what I saw yesterday at Palmer Park, which I still need to do a post on.

And, that reminds me, because of an error on my part, most of you didn’t receive a notice about this post that I finished on Saturday, if you’re interested, you may follow the link if you choose to do so. It includes photos like this one.

Cooper's hawk with lunch

Cooper’s hawk with lunch

Since the weather wasn’t nearly as good today as it was yesterday, here’s the best that I could do.

Bloodroot

Bloodroot

Bloodroot

Bloodroot

Bloodroot

Bloodroot

Bloodroot

Bloodroot

Bloodroot

Bloodroot

Bloodroot

Bloodroot

The last two look exactly the same here, but there’s 1/3 stop of exposure compensation difference between the two. I should learn that such minor differences don’t show up here, although they do on my computer.

I played peek-a-boo with a downy woodpecker.

Male downy woodpecker

Male downy woodpecker

As the day wore on, more sunlight began to appear, and a few trillium opened up.

Trillium

Trillium

Trillium

Trillium

Trillium and bee

Trillium and bee

Trillium and bee

Trillium and bee

Trillium and bee

Trillium and bee

Spring beauty

Spring beauty

Dutchman's breeches

Dutchman’s breeches

Dutchman's breeches

Dutchman’s breeches

Hepatica

Hepatica

Dutchman's breeches

Dutchman’s breeches

Spring beauty

Spring beauty

I watched water striders mating, it’s that time of the year!

Water striders

Water striders

And here’s a few more odds and ends.

Eastern chipmunk

Eastern chipmunk

Floating leaf

Floating leaf

Emerging leaves

Emerging leaves

Unidentified fungal object

Unidentified fungal object

Unidentified fly object

Unidentified fly object

Black-capped chickadee

Black-capped chickadee

I’m not sure, but I think that the chickadee felt sorry for me. He posed for some time, so I shot many photos, but since I have posted so many lately, just this one will do for this post.

I’ve been trying to learn the names of the flowers, but here’s a few that I have yet to learn.

Unidentified flowering object

Unidentified flowering object

Unidentified flowering object

Unidentified flowering object

Unidentified flowering object

Unidentified flowering object

Unidentified flowering object

Unidentified flowering object

Unidentified flowering object

Unidentified flowering object

That’s it for the images from today. After yesterday’s birding bonanza, today was a little disappointing, but it turned out to be a nice day to be outdoors, even if I didn’t get the images that I had planned on.

I have 70 left from yesterday when I had one of my best days ever as far as photography. I was going to put them into a post of their own, but looking at the weather forecast for this coming week, I think that I’ll wait for a day or two to decide what to do with those photos. It’s forecast to rain everyday this week, with lots of wind, so photos may be few and far between this week. Maybe I’ll use the images from yesterday spread out over the next week.

And, to wind this up, it looks as if I’ll be going back to Aman Park next week in hopes of catching the trillium at their peak. I’ve hit it the last three years, I don’t want to break the string.

That’s it for this one, thanks for stopping by!

35 responses

  1. Jerry, you are the only one photographer who is capable of getting a photo if the hairs on a fly’s butt. Nice. Trillium makes me homesick.

    April 27, 2014 at 9:16 pm

    • Thanks Judy, but I’m not the only photographer who can get those photos. I hope that next weekend that I’ll have acres and acres of trillium to show you!

      April 27, 2014 at 9:19 pm

      • Looking forward to that. Will miss your posts while you’re on vacation.

        April 27, 2014 at 11:39 pm

      • Thanks, I’m sure that I’ll make up for lost posts when I return.

        April 27, 2014 at 11:48 pm

  2. I got a notice of a post of yours several days ago but when I clicked on it, it said it was no longer available, which I thought was weird. Did you take one down to finish? I was able to see the text and photos in the e-mail but not if I clicked on it – then it went to your blog page and said the post was gone. Anyway, I feel like a broken record lately with my opinions about this spring and the weather, so I will keep them to myself this time. 🙂 Hope you get the trillium at peak next weekend. That hawk photo – impressive! It’s back to work for me this week so my ability to keep up with all the blogs will be severely diminished. (Not to mention my ability to sleep in, LOL.) Looking forward to seeing your bird pics from yesterday!

    April 27, 2014 at 9:53 pm

    • Thanks Amy! I forget that I should never hit the enter key while working on a post. Sometimes, that causes it to be published immediately, other times it doesn’t. I hope that your job goes better for you than mine is for me!

      April 27, 2014 at 11:46 pm

      • 😀 Well, I work with 3 and 4 year-olds, so…… At least I know my end date is nearing and I will be off for the summer. Are you quitting your job after your vacation?

        April 28, 2014 at 4:09 pm

      • I’d need more than a summer off if I worked with kids the age that you work with! 😉

        After I return from vacation, I’ll start looking for another job, I can’t afford to quit this one, a very long story.

        April 29, 2014 at 2:59 am

      • There are days when I get home and think I never want to hear, “teacher, teacher, teacher” or “Mrs. Corron, Mrs. Corron” ever again. LOL But then they do a lot of cute things. Like yesterday, we have one little girl who is bi-racial and she and another little boy were arguing, the little boy said, “Your dad is peach” and she replied “nuh uh, he’s white” and then the other said, “no he’s not, he’s peach!” and she once again said “no, he’s white”. It was funny.

        I thought perhaps you had another job lined up already. I can certainly understand not being able to afford to just quit – not too many people can, especially in this economy where full-time jobs are scarce. Prayers you find the perfect opportunity.

        April 29, 2014 at 1:11 pm

      • That’s a funny story! Finding a job won’t be a problem, I have a CDL with a clean record, finding a good job may be more problematic though.

        April 30, 2014 at 2:57 am

  3. Nenkin Seikatsu

    Take the good with the bad. 🙂

    April 27, 2014 at 9:54 pm

    • Thanks, that’s good advice!

      April 27, 2014 at 11:47 pm

  4. That hawk is a beauty!

    April 27, 2014 at 11:13 pm

    • Thank you!

      April 27, 2014 at 11:47 pm

  5. What lovely flowers and a gorgeous chipmunk.

    April 28, 2014 at 4:24 am

    • Thank you Susan, I’ll try to include more of both in future posts.

      April 28, 2014 at 9:01 am

  6. If that’s a disappointing day I envy you … a lot. Fabulous pictures brought to life with knowledge and understanding; and more than a little skill with a shutter.

    April 28, 2014 at 4:35 am

    • Thank you! Hopefully I’ll catch that park at the peak of the trillium bloom, and you’ll see why I was disappointed.

      April 28, 2014 at 9:02 am

  7. Nice trillium sequence. Also, the results your getting with your macro lens are very nice!

    April 28, 2014 at 5:51 am

    • Thank you Robert. Those were all shot with my “long macro lens”, the 300 mm prime with the 1.4 extender.

      April 28, 2014 at 9:03 am

  8. I’d call that a good day! A lot of flowers do close up on cloudy days and especially rainy days. I think your first unknown white flowers are hepatica because of the hairy stems. I’m not sure what the others are. It’s nice to see the white trillium and Dutchman’s breeches, which don’t grow here. I’m guessing the hawk and chipmunk shots were taken far apart. I like the shot of the floating oak leaf-it hadn’t been floating long.

    April 28, 2014 at 6:40 am

    • Thanks Allen, I learned something new, about the flowers closing up. I won’t make that mistake again, I hope. But, I do hope to still catch the full trillium display yet this year. With the wind yesterday, there were lots of fresh leaves hitting the water, so that one was easy pickings.

      April 28, 2014 at 9:10 am

  9. That first shot of the Trillium is superb in my book. They are a lot more rare out here than they apparently are there. They were my hubby’s favorite sign of spring. Thanks for the glorious reminder. I haven’t seen any out here since I moved into town.

    April 28, 2014 at 4:57 pm

    • Thank you! I hope to have photos of millions of trillium next weekend, not finding them last weekend is what left me disappointed.

      April 29, 2014 at 3:01 am

  10. You are a very hard working chap but your hard work gives us very good things to enjoy so keep it up.

    April 28, 2014 at 6:04 pm

    • Thanks, but I don’t consider wandering around in the woods to be work, it’s what I do for fun!

      April 29, 2014 at 3:02 am

  11. Loved the picture of the peeking downy woodpecker! The pale woodland flowers must just shine under the trees! I couldn’t stop laughing with all your ‘unidentified flowery object’ captions. All that typing!

    April 29, 2014 at 8:02 am

    • Thank you Clare. The Unidentified flowery object is a bit of a running gag on my blog, if I can’t ID something, I try for a caption that works out to be “UFO” of some type, like unidentified fungal object.

      April 29, 2014 at 9:53 am

      • Oh I’m glad about that as I suddenly felt guilty after I posted that comment in case it wasn’t a gag and you thought I was being rude! Do let me know if anything I say is hurtful – I don’t mean to be thoughtless, I just get carried away!

        April 30, 2014 at 9:22 am

      • Not to worry, I can always take a joke!

        May 1, 2014 at 2:45 am

  12. Outstanding flowers, but even more outstanding is your Cooper’s hawk. Look at tht gleam I it’s eye!

    April 29, 2014 at 11:18 am

    • Thank you, the hawk was warning me not to attempt to steal its meal!

      April 30, 2014 at 2:43 am

  13. You’ve really captured the personalities of the birds today! Love the little woodpecker & wow, that hawk. Please don’t tell me *what* he was eating–I’d rather not know! 😉

    May 3, 2014 at 8:52 am

    • Thanks Lori! I couldn’t tell you what the hawk was eating anyway, I was so focused on getting the photos that I paid no attention to what was on the menu.

      May 3, 2014 at 10:34 am

  14. Pingback: My Week, April showers, finally. | Quiet Solo Pursuits