My adventures in the woods, streams, rivers, fields, and lakes of Michigan

What I’ll miss

On Saturday afternoon, after I had most of my packing done for my vacation, I took a break, and took a walk. In a way, I almost hate to leave, as spring is in full swing here, and I know that up north, I’ll be going back two to three weeks in the season. But, before I babble on about that, here’s the photos that I shot while on my walk.

Flowering tree

Flowering tree

There were four or five male red-winged blackbirds fighting over a female….

Red-winged blackbird battle

Red-winged blackbird battle

….I only managed to get parts of three of them in the frame.

Red-winged blackbird battle

Red-winged blackbird battle

A turkey vulture soared overhead.

Turkey vulture in flight

Turkey vulture in flight

One of the flowers that I’ll miss.

Apple blossoms about to open

Apple blossoms about to open

Some that I managed to find that were open.

Flowering fruit tree

Flowering fruit tree

Flowering fruit tree

Flowering fruit tree

My best image of a Baltimore oriole so far!

Male Baltimore oriole

Male Baltimore oriole

It was a bit breezy this day!

Male Baltimore oriole

Male Baltimore oriole

More flowers.

Flowering fruit tree

Flowering fruit tree

Flowering fruit tree

Flowering fruit tree

Sorry for so many catbirds lately, I just can’t stop myself, I love them! Not only do I enjoy listening to them, for a rather plain grey bird, I find them rather striking.

Grey catbird eating sumac

Grey catbird eating sumac

Grey catbird eating sumac

Grey catbird eating sumac

Grey catbird eating sumac

Grey catbird eating sumac

Look closely, and you can see its tongue as it tastes the sumac before swallowing it. I’m getting good at getting bird’s tongues!

Grey catbird eating sumac

Grey catbird eating sumac

It doesn’t take flowers to see great colors this time of year.

Maple seeds

Maple seeds

Mourning dove

Mourning dove

Willow catkins

Willow catkins

Cherry tree

Cherry tree

It’s funny, I was so tired of white from all the snow this past winter, but white flowers still capture my attention.

Flowering fruit tree

Flowering fruit tree

I got better photos of a Nashville warbler!

Nashville warbler

Nashville warbler

This image of a oriole isn’t as sharp as the previous one, but I love the colors and the way that the light played on his breast feathers.

Male Baltimore oriole

Male Baltimore oriole

Male Baltimore oriole

Male Baltimore oriole

Another flower.

Wild geranium

Wild geranium

This is Bertha, the red-tailed hawk, watching small songbirds as they watch her, there has to be a joke about bird watching there, but I can’t come up with one.

Predator and prey

Predator and prey

More buds that I’ll miss seeing while they are open.

Redbud blossoms about to open

Redbud blossoms about to open

Maple

Maple

That’s it for this one. It will be published while I’m gone, so it may take me a while to reply to any comments, but thanks for stopping by!

37 responses

  1. Lovely photos again. The oriole is really beautiful! Is the redbud tree a kind of Judas Tree? (Cercis siliquastrum?) Or is this the blind leading the blind?

    May 12, 2014 at 8:42 am

    • Thank you! I have no knowledge of redbuds other than that’s what they are called around here.

      May 15, 2014 at 10:20 am

  2. I’ll miss YOU watching things open and be springlike. How am I possibly gonna do this myself? πŸ˜‰

    May 12, 2014 at 8:49 am

  3. Reblogged this on Writing Out Loud and commented:
    Good to know that in Michigan there is spring, terrific pictures, hope the vacation is fruitful.

    May 12, 2014 at 9:54 am

  4. Fabulous Red Winged Blackbirds and Orioles! I don’t hpthink our Orioles have arrived yet from their migration. I also love, love the Catbirds – there is something especially lovely about them, and your photos do the justice. Bertha and prey is also good. I like it that Red Tailed Hawks can peaceably coexist with their prey at times – they ny hunt when hungry or to feed their young – but so often theory will mercilessly pester the hawks anyway, chasing off the much larger birds.

    May 12, 2014 at 10:35 am

  5. Wonderful photographs, impossible to choose a favourite. Have a great vacation.

    May 12, 2014 at 10:42 am

    • Thank you Susan!

      May 15, 2014 at 10:21 am

  6. Don’t think about what you’ll miss, think about all the great things you’ll see and do that you normally don’t. And have some fun.

    May 12, 2014 at 11:17 am

    • Thanks Allen! Round one of my vacation was cut short by rain and snow, but it was great to be out where there were no human sounds to be heard for hours on end!

      May 15, 2014 at 10:22 am

  7. Very refreshing photos !!
    Thank you !
    Cheers,
    Michel πŸ™‚

    May 12, 2014 at 1:17 pm

    • Thank you Michel!

      May 15, 2014 at 10:23 am

  8. Looking forward to seeing what you come up with on your trip!

    May 12, 2014 at 1:50 pm

    • Thanks! So far, not very much, but maybe I’ll have better luck in round two.

      May 15, 2014 at 10:24 am

  9. Agree with NH… think not about what you’re missing, but totally enjoy a well earned vacation! πŸ˜€

    May 12, 2014 at 2:49 pm

    • Thank you Gunta, round one was good, round two will be better!

      May 15, 2014 at 10:25 am

  10. Simply glorious. Love the catbird with sumac berry in its beak, but all the shots are splendid.

    May 12, 2014 at 3:48 pm

    • Thank you Tish, I’m glad that you enjoyed them.

      May 15, 2014 at 10:25 am

  11. Have a great vacation! You are right about spring being 2 or 3 weeks behind up there. Don’t expect to see very much green at first, but this means you can spot other things much easier – such as all the birds that are flocking there – and other wildlife. Enjoy!!

    May 12, 2014 at 3:51 pm

    • Thanks Amy! There were still piles of snow in the woods, and drifts along I-75 around Vanderbilt, but I had several good days despite the rain. It sure is a lot greener down here.

      May 15, 2014 at 10:27 am

      • Ugh, snow, at least we didn’t see any of that when we were up there last weekend! It’s weird to think when we go up for Memorial day it will probably be at the stage we are here right now. You were right when you said it’s like experiencing spring twice.

        May 15, 2014 at 12:41 pm

      • For some reason, so far this year, it has been like going back to winter, but that’s probably because of how long the winter was.

        May 15, 2014 at 3:27 pm

  12. I won’t comment since you are away.

    May 12, 2014 at 5:21 pm

    • Thanks Tom, I appreciate that. πŸ˜‰

      May 15, 2014 at 10:27 am

  13. Such amazing flower shots here Jerry. I know you’re on your trip having a wonderful time. Totally jealous of your Nashville warbler

    May 12, 2014 at 7:53 pm

    • Thanks Emily! I now have some close-ups of a Nashville warbler, that is, if they have brown crowns, otherwise, I’ve discovered a new species. πŸ™‚

      May 15, 2014 at 10:29 am

  14. I’ve been really enjoying your blog! Your photos are so beautiful and inspiring. I especially love the bird photos. They are just great.

    May 12, 2014 at 11:10 pm

    • Thank you very much, I’m glad that you are enjoying it so far.

      May 15, 2014 at 10:29 am

  15. Nashville warbler seems a little far away from home, no? Hope u enjoyed your trip!!!

    May 15, 2014 at 8:29 am

    • Thanks Lori, but I don’t name the birds, as Nashville warblers have nothing to do with Nashville, I just photograph the little buggers.

      May 15, 2014 at 10:36 am

      • Funny you should mention that because I’m reading a very enjoyable book about the history of birding in America and found out a bit about how the name thing worked. And, yup, it’s a bit idiosyncratic, for sure!

        May 15, 2014 at 11:17 am

      • Yes it is!

        May 15, 2014 at 3:26 pm

  16. Enjoy your trip and bring back plenty of photos! (like you weren’t going to do that πŸ˜‰ )

    I like the battling Red-Winged Blackbirds picture- these guys are so cranky in nesting season it can be funny.

    May 15, 2014 at 1:02 pm

    • Thanks, I think that they fight for fun, and to practice for when they take on the hawks. πŸ˜‰

      May 15, 2014 at 3:28 pm

  17. Wow!! Spring glorious spring!

    May 15, 2014 at 2:39 pm

    • Thank you!

      May 15, 2014 at 2:40 pm

  18. All of this will miss you too… You make this all… Look So Good! Have fun on vacation!

    May 15, 2014 at 5:36 pm

    • Thank you Nancy, I never looked at it that way before.

      May 15, 2014 at 5:38 pm