My adventures in the woods, streams, rivers, fields, and lakes of Michigan

Spring 2014 vacation, around home, day 3

This is the third batch of the photos that I shot around where I live. There will be more flowers than birds, including the tulips, finally. 😉

All the images were taken with my newer 300 mm prime L series lens with a Tamron 1.4 X extender, and shot handheld. I’m not completely used to using a tripod yet, I still find it easier to shoot handheld, moving around slightly until I get the best light and composition that I can. I have trouble visualizing that as I’m setting up my tripod, what I may start doing is use the long lens to “see” the shot that I want, then set up my tripod and the Tokina macro lens to actually shoot the shot.

Wild geraniums

Wild geraniums

Wild geranium

Wild geranium

Future dandelions

Future dandelions

I did get a lifer, an Estes bird!

An Estes bird

An Estes bird

Lilacs

Lilacs

Wild cherry

Wild cherry

Here’s the series of tulip photos that I’m quite proud of, I think that I did a pretty good job with these.

Tulips

Tulips

Tulips

Tulips

Tulip

Tulip

Tulip

Tulip

This one’s not bad either.

Goat's beard

Goat’s beard

Honeysuckle

Honeysuckle

Barn swallow

Barn swallow

Barn swallow wondering if it can eat any more

Barn swallow wondering if it can eat any more

Star flower

Star flower

Star flower

Star flower

I sat down on a bench in the shade to take a break, and it was only a few seconds before Bruiser, the male red-tailed hawk came by, as he was being mobbed by red-winged blackbirds. I still haven’t swapped all my dedicated settings between my two camera bodies, so I didn’t have my saved bird in flight set up to use, I had to adjust manually for these, which is why they are slightly overexposed. Sorry for so many of these, I probably should have deleted a few more, but that’s me.

Red-tailed hawk attacked by red-winged blackbirds

Red-tailed hawk attacked by red-winged blackbirds

Red-tailed hawk attacked by red-winged blackbirds

Red-tailed hawk attacked by red-winged blackbirds

Red-tailed hawk attacked by red-winged blackbirds

Red-tailed hawk attacked by red-winged blackbirds

Red-tailed hawk attacked by red-winged blackbirds

Red-tailed hawk attacked by red-winged blackbirds

Red-tailed hawk attacked by red-winged blackbirds

Red-tailed hawk attacked by red-winged blackbirds

Red-tailed hawk attacked by red-winged blackbirds

Red-tailed hawk attacked by red-winged blackbirds

Red-tailed hawk attacked by red-winged blackbirds

Red-tailed hawk attacked by red-winged blackbirds

Lilac

Lilac

Blue jay

Blue jay

Canada goose performing yoga on top of a building

Canada goose performing yoga on top of a building

Finally, my best photos of a six spotted tiger beetle. I have no idea how these came to be named what they are as I see no resemblance to a tiger at all, I don’t name them, I just photograph them. 😉

Six spotted tiger beetle

Six spotted tiger beetle

Six spotted tiger beetle

Six spotted tiger beetle

 

That’s it for this one, thanks for stopping by!

 

20 responses

  1. Nice sequence of the Red-tailed hawk and crow but my favorite this post may be the Tiger Beetle!

    May 29, 2014 at 2:35 pm

    • Thanks Bob!

      May 29, 2014 at 3:12 pm

  2. Jut stupendous, you really are very good Photographer🙋🙋

    May 29, 2014 at 3:17 pm

    • Thank you very much, but nature creates the photo, I just press the shutter release!

      May 29, 2014 at 3:19 pm

      • Don’t be so modest🙋🙋

        May 30, 2014 at 3:55 pm

  3. Splendid pictures of the red tailed hawk and I loved your tulips too.

    May 29, 2014 at 3:21 pm

    • Thanks Susan!

      May 30, 2014 at 2:51 am

  4. Good depth of field in the tulip pictures….and the hawk shots were top notch too.

    May 29, 2014 at 5:53 pm

    • Thanks Tom! I tested the limits of the image stabilization of the lens to get that depth of field with some very slow shutter speeds, but they turned out well.

      May 30, 2014 at 2:54 am

  5. I think all of these are excellent but the dandelion seed head and the swallow contemplating the bugs are really amazing.
    Last week I saw a blackbird actually pecking the head of a hawk as they were flying.
    Nice shot of the beetle. I had one in a post a while ago but you couldn’t see the iridescence like you can in your shots.
    I used to shoot off rockets just like that one with my son when he was young. It was a lot of fun!

    May 29, 2014 at 6:48 pm

    • Thanks Allen! The blackbirds are fearless, last week I saw them attacking eagles repeatedly. I’ve taken photos of the beetles before also, but I was never happy with them. That close focusing 300 mm lens is just the ticket for insects, and large flowers.

      I used to be into model rockets big time, I even designed most of the ones I flew the last few years that I was involved in it, it was a lot of fun, until the rockets were eaten by trees. 😉

      May 30, 2014 at 3:05 am

  6. Love the tulips and the hawk! I have watched a vulture bothered by smaller birds in the Desert sky. It is fun to watch the little ones after the big ones. I enjoy your photos of Spring!! Thank You!

    May 29, 2014 at 6:49 pm

    • Thanks Nancy, I’m glad you enjoyed it!

      May 30, 2014 at 3:05 am

  7. At least the six-spotted tiger beetle has six spots. 🙂

    Gorgeous tulips but that dandelion fluff is truly sublime! Your photos are becoming so artistic!

    The geese doing yoga made me laugh. 😀

    May 29, 2014 at 8:14 pm

    • Thanks Amy! I’ve been waiting months for the flowers to return so I could express my artistic side again. That’s a little hard to do when photographing birds.

      May 30, 2014 at 3:07 am

  8. Fabulous shots of the RTH being mobbed by the Red Wings, and EXCELENT tupelos, especially the one as your masthead.

    June 1, 2014 at 4:22 pm

    • Thank you!

      June 2, 2014 at 12:57 am

      • You’re welcome, and sorry aboutthe autocorrect typo. Of course, you know I meant tulips, not tupelos.

        June 2, 2014 at 9:27 am

  9. These photos are all so good but I think the dandelion seed-head is my favourite. For some reason I haven’t been getting your posts for the last week. I had to re-follow you even though I hadn’t unfollowed if you get my meaning

    June 2, 2014 at 8:22 pm

    • Thanks Clare, I’ve had problems getting some post notifications myself from time to time.

      June 3, 2014 at 2:49 am