My adventures in the woods, streams, rivers, fields, and lakes of Michigan

Lake Michigan birding March 22nd, a quick preview

It’s Thursday evening, and I already have 51 hours in for the week, and the legal limit is 60, so tomorrow will be a (relatively) short day. Needless to say, I haven’t been out walking at all the week, 14 hours on with 10 hours off does that to me.

Note: You can click on any of these photos for a larger version, and I recommend that you do, I’m very, very proud of these.

However, I did make it to the Lake Michigan shoreline early Sunday morning. How early? This early!

Sunrise at the Grand Haven breakwater

Sunrise at the Grand Haven breakwater

All my efforts at learning the Photomatix HDR software is beginning to show fruit, especially when I use Lightroom to do the conversion to Tiff before loading the images in Photomatix. ย Not to brag, but I can see that I’m making real progress.

It was a very cold morning, I nearly froze my fingers off getting the sunrise photos, and most of the photos from the day, but it was worth it! I stopped at the Bear Lake channel that feeds into Muskegon Lake on a bit of a lark, to fool around with the mallards there…

Male mallard

Male mallard

Male mallard in flight

Male mallard in flight

…when this guy came out from under one of the boat docks there.

Male wood duck

Male wood duck

When I think about all the times that I’ve stalked wood ducks trying to get a good photo of one, well, it’s been a struggle to put it mildly. Now, I had one at close range that let me shoot all the photos that I wanted.

Male wood duck

Male wood duck

And though the light wasn’t perfect, it was good enough as you can see. To me, wood ducks are one of the most beautiful species of any type of bird, not just waterfowl, it’s a wonder that I didn’t fill the entire memory card of the camera with just photos of him. But then, I wouldn’t have shot this one of a juvenile bald eagle.

Juvenile bald eagle in flight

Juvenile bald eagle in flight

Yup, it was that kind of day.

Now, it’s time for me to shower and turn in for the night.

That this is it for this one, thanks for stopping by!

29 responses

  1. TPJ

    Great shots of the wood duck. Thanks.

    March 26, 2015 at 9:07 pm

    • Thank you, very much!

      March 27, 2015 at 5:46 pm

  2. That Wood duck is absolutely gorgeous, but I really love that Mallard in flight. The action is superb, with the water spray and wings spread out. It’s great!

    March 26, 2015 at 11:20 pm

    • Thank you!It was a great day for photography.

      March 27, 2015 at 5:47 pm

  3. Wow, wow, wow! That first shot of the pier is everyone’s fantasy photo. Love every sparkling little light.

    The wood ducks are surreal. Kudos.

    You are right to be proud.

    March 26, 2015 at 11:35 pm

    • Thank you Judy! Every once in a while I have a super day when I do it right most of the time, that was one of them. But, I think that I can do even better, with more practice and more patience.

      March 27, 2015 at 5:51 pm

  4. The wood duck is utterly magic, but I have to say I like the lighthouse the best! (Shows my bias!) ๐Ÿ™‚

    March 27, 2015 at 12:58 am

    • Thank you Gunta! I also liked the lighthouse a great deal, but I have the nagging thought that I didn’t get the composition as good as I may have.

      March 27, 2015 at 5:53 pm

  5. Wow! These are so beautiful! Especially the one with the lighthouse…its is now going to be my wallpaper! ๐Ÿ˜‰

    March 27, 2015 at 2:37 am

    • Thank you very much Saksham!

      March 27, 2015 at 5:54 pm

  6. I enlarged them all, no wonder you are proud of them especially the male Wood Duck and the bald eagle. How hard you work, i hope you get a decent wage.

    March 27, 2015 at 3:35 am

    • Thank you Susan! I may not become a millionaire in my lifetime, but I do make enough money at this employer to make the long hours worthwhile.

      March 27, 2015 at 5:55 pm

  7. The shot of the mallard taking off wins the day!

    March 27, 2015 at 5:18 am

    • Thank you Bob! It’s funny how each person has their own favorite, with many people picking the same one you did.

      March 27, 2015 at 5:56 pm

  8. The wood ducks are really beautiful!

    March 27, 2015 at 7:47 am

    • Thank you very much! If you knew how hard I’ve tried to come close to those photos of the wood duck in the past, then you’d know why I’m so proud of those.

      March 27, 2015 at 5:57 pm

  9. That’s a beautiful shot of the sunrise Jerry. Well worth freezing fingers.
    Nice of the mallard to smile and dance for the camera.
    And imagine a wood duck posing! All I ever see of them is their tail feathers.
    Excellent shots, one and all!

    March 27, 2015 at 9:01 am

    • Thank you Allen! It was an incredible day, starting with a very good sunrise over the breakwater, something scenic for a change. The mallards were up to their usual antics of hamming for the camera, but I never thought that I’d see a wood duck doing the same.

      March 27, 2015 at 6:45 pm

  10. Magnificent shots, Jerry. You have every right to feel proud of them. You always put so much effort into learning new things and getting things perfect. Colours, composition and sharpness are excellent. Glad you have a shorter day tomorrow. I hope you can get some rest. ๐Ÿ™‚

    March 27, 2015 at 9:53 am

    • Thank you Jane! I do put a lot of work into my photography, but the rewards, great memories captured forever, make it worthwhile.

      March 27, 2015 at 6:42 pm

  11. These shots are so very fine, Jerry. Every one of them is excellent, no wonder you are proud of them.

    March 27, 2015 at 5:36 pm

    • Thank you very much Clare! It was one of my better days.

      March 27, 2015 at 5:58 pm

      • ๐Ÿ™‚

        March 27, 2015 at 6:02 pm

  12. You should be proud; they are all wonderful photos, but I really like the second male wood duck, the detail and the colours are superb.

    March 27, 2015 at 6:41 pm

    • Thank you Brandy! Yes, I’m proud of these, but they also spur me on to go for even better images in the future.

      March 27, 2015 at 6:47 pm

  13. The wood duck is a beauty.

    March 27, 2015 at 7:35 pm

    • Thanks Tom! I hope to shoot better ones tomorrow, if the little guy hasn’t frozen solid.

      March 27, 2015 at 7:40 pm

  14. Love that flying drake!!!

    March 30, 2015 at 11:00 am

    • Thank you Lori!

      April 3, 2015 at 8:13 am