My adventures in the woods, streams, rivers, fields, and lakes of Michigan

From around home, From this to that

One of the things that I like about the schedule that I’ve been working the past few months is that when I do get out with my camera, it is at sunrise or shortly after. That means that many times I have better light to work with, and rather than a plain snapshot like this…

Double day lily

Double day lily

…I can get an image like this.

Double day lily

Double day lily

Instead of this…

Spotted knapweed

Spotted knapweed

…I can get this.

Spotted knapweed

Spotted knapweed

Of course it doesn’t always work like that, but if I keep my eyes open, there are many more possibilities for more dramatic photos at dawn than there are during the middle part of the day.

Red clover

Red clover

Red clover

Red clover

I could prattle on and on about how much I’m enjoying playing with all my camera gear, and how my confidence grows with every passing day, but I’ve said that before. So, I’ll try not to say too much as I share a few more of the photos that I have saved from around home. Some of these go back to the middle of May, and they may not all be great, but I like them.

Iris

Iris

Eldeberry

Viburnum

The thing is, some of these were taken so long ago that I’ve forgotten what they were.

Flowering bush

Flowering bush

Flowering bush

Flowering bush

Another reason why some of these were saved is because of the cuteness factor.

Young cottontail rabbit

Young cottontail rabbit

Young cottontail rabbit

Young cottontail rabbit

Young cottontail rabbit

Young cottontail rabbit

Here’s another flower that I’m not sure that I’m identifying correctly.

White campion

White campion

White campion

White campion

I thought that this next one was soapwort, but I think that I was mistaken.

Not soapwort?

Bladder campion

I know that this next one was a rose though.

Wild rose

Wild rose

I suppose that this is a good place to throw in a few birds photos.

Female American goldfinch

Female American goldfinch

Eastern meadowlark

Eastern meadowlark

Eastern meadowlarks

Eastern meadowlarks

Willow flycatcher

Willow flycatcher “singing”

If you’ve ever heard a willow flycatcher, you know why I put singing in quotation marks. It isn’t a song, it’s more like a raspy insect, but they do put their hearts into it when they make the sounds that they do.

Willow flycatcher

Willow flycatcher

Back to the cuteness factor, and what’s cuter than a mother mallard…

Female mallard

Female mallard

…keeping an eye on her youngsters…

Mallard chick

Mallard chick

…as one of them does its yoga stretches…

Mallard yoga

Mallard yoga

Mallard yoga

Mallard yoga

Mallard yoga

Mallard yoga

…then hams for the camera…

Mallard cuteness overload

Mallard cuteness overload

…before joining his siblings in a feeding frenzy.

Mini mallard feeding frenzy

Mini mallard feeding frenzy

If those don’t put a smile on your bill…

Mallard chick

Mallard chick

…then this one won’t either.

Fox squirrel

Fox squirrel

Back to a few more flowers.

Milkweed

Milkweed

Bird's foot trefoil

Bird’s foot trefoil

St John's wort

St John’s wort

St John's wort

St John’s wort

Wild rose

Wild rose

Flowering grass

Flowering grass

Here’s a series of photos of a whitetail doe as she checked me out, then but on a bit of a show for me to display how graceful they are.

Whitetail deer

Whitetail deer

Whitetail deer

Whitetail deer

Whitetail deer

Whitetail deer

Whitetail deer

Whitetail deer

Whitetail deer

Whitetail deer

Whitetail deer

Whitetail deer

It’s been a beautiful, but all too short of summer so far, the weather has been cool most days compared to many summers in Michigan, and we’ve gotten more than enough rain to make all the plants grow like crazy.

Early summer sun

Early summer sun

Black eyed Susan

Black eyed Susan

Now then, aren’t you all glad that I didn’t bore you to death with more of my ramblings on photography?

That’s it for this one, thanks for stopping by!

29 responses

  1. Great job with all the flowers! It’s important not to lose sight of the fact that we’re painting with light.

    July 21, 2015 at 7:42 pm

    • Thank you very much Bob! Yes, we’re painting with light, and the light is the best at dawn and sunset.

      July 22, 2015 at 12:36 am

  2. Beautiful photos, Jerry! I like the mallard yoga.

    July 21, 2015 at 7:50 pm

    • Thank you Lavinia! I love mallards to begin with, the chicks are even more fun than the adults.

      July 22, 2015 at 12:35 am

  3. Wow.

    July 21, 2015 at 9:58 pm

    • Thank you!

      July 22, 2015 at 12:34 am

  4. Lovely photographs, you are so clever. Of course i liked the rabbits and the fox squirrel best.

    July 22, 2015 at 2:27 am

    • Thank you very much Susan!

      July 22, 2015 at 3:56 pm

  5. Wonderful photos. Your sunrise shots are outstanding and your captures of the moving doe are so sharp. You present such a great variety of subjects. Fascinating as always.

    July 22, 2015 at 5:56 am

    • Thank you Brandy! Just about everything in nature interests me, so I try to photograph it all, and succeed in doing it well some of the time, like the doe.

      July 22, 2015 at 3:57 pm

      • A bit more than some of the time, methinks.

        July 22, 2015 at 4:46 pm

  6. Wonderful photos again, Jerry. I loved them all, but it’s especially nice to see the creatures that we don’t see here. Those fox squirrels are adorable. Dawn is such a great time to be out in nature. The mallard yoga pics made me smile! I hope you get a bit more sunshine and warm weather than you’ve had so far. πŸ™‚

    July 22, 2015 at 6:05 am

    • thank you very much Jane! I feel the same way when I read your posts, look at all the cool things she gets to see down there! The weather is forecast to be around normal for the next week, which is too warm for me. I’ve been loving this cool rainy summer so far.

      July 22, 2015 at 4:00 pm

  7. “Mallard yoga” really did put a smile on my bill! πŸ˜€

    I love the series of the doe. I would love to capture one running – or leaping – but have yet to do so successfully. (They don’t exactly give you much time to prepare, LOL.) Your photos are great, and so clear even though she is moving!!

    You are right about the light, wow, it makes a beautiful difference! All your flower photos are stunning but I’m always partial to the milkweed.

    July 22, 2015 at 9:08 am

    • Thank you very much Amy! You’re right, the deer don’t usually give you a lot of time to prepare, but for some reason, this one did.

      That, and your last post from the zoo got me to thinking today, a zoo makes a great place to practice your photography. You know where the animals are, and you can concentrate on photography, not on the many other things that intrude into your thoughts.

      July 22, 2015 at 4:05 pm

      • Yes, and you can pretty much stay there until you get the shot you want! πŸ™‚ It is a good place to practice. I want to go back and try some “street scape” type shots, especially in the African area because it has almost a theme park type atmosphere there and is very colorful.

        July 22, 2015 at 4:34 pm

  8. I’m pretty sure that’s a viburnum rather than an elderberry. There are several viburnums that have larger sterile flowers surrounding the smaller fertile flowers in the center of the flower head.
    What you thought might be soapwort is bladder campion (Silene vulgaris), which is a nice find. I’ve been looking for it for several years.
    I like all the shots of the animals. It seems like you might be seeing as many as you used to at your old place.
    I’m glad you’re getting some time for yourself. You’re obviously using it wisely!

    July 22, 2015 at 3:17 pm

    • Thank you very much Allen. My poor way of identifying flowers is to hope that some one whom I trust does a post that contains the flowers that I’ve seen, and try to match the flowers in their photos to my photos. Some one obviously didn’t know what either soapwort or bladderwort were. πŸ˜‰ Oh, and if you want to see bladderwort, come to southern Michigan, it grows everywhere around here.

      About the more varied critters, I realized that I run in streaks, I’ll post quite a few of one species for a while, get tired of them as far as photos, then switch to another species. So, I’m going to try to spread them out more from now on. But, no place in suburbia can match that other apartment complex.

      July 22, 2015 at 4:11 pm

      • Careful-not badder wort, bladder campion.
        You can usually tell soapwort by its coarse overall look and the swept back petals.

        July 22, 2015 at 4:19 pm

      • Thank you! It’s been a long day, and I’m ready for some sleep.

        July 22, 2015 at 4:32 pm

  9. Well, I liked them all….especially the leaping deer.

    July 22, 2015 at 7:39 pm

    • Thank you very much Tom! It was very nice of the deer to put on a show like that for me.

      July 22, 2015 at 11:48 pm

  10. I liked them all too! The early summer sun on the grasses is beautiful and I really laughed at the mallard shots.

    July 23, 2015 at 7:33 pm

    • Thank you very much Clare! This summer is just flying by, I wish that there was a way to slow down time.

      July 24, 2015 at 12:35 am

      • So do I! It’s my eldest daughter’s 30th birthday today and that is making me feel a little old too.

        July 24, 2015 at 11:27 am

  11. Big smile on my face from the Mallard Yoga sequence. The backlit flowers were pretty special, too. I’ve come to the conclusion that the objective is to have fun while you’re doing whatever it is you’re doing. How’s that for your fortune cookie of the day? πŸ™‚

    July 25, 2015 at 2:10 am

    • Thank you very much Gunta! The fortune cookie works for me, I’m having great fun with my camera these days.

      July 25, 2015 at 10:06 am

  12. Great photos as usual!

    July 28, 2015 at 4:25 pm

    • Thank you very much!

      July 28, 2015 at 4:53 pm