My adventures in the woods, streams, rivers, fields, and lakes of Michigan

Internet problems

I’ve been having Internet connection problems this weekend, I think that my wireless modem is giving up the ghost. I don’t know how long it will last, or how I’ll resolve the issue. My service is through AT&T, known for no customer service. I’ve already had trouble viewing other people’s posts and leaving comments. So, I’m going to throw a couple of photos in here from this past weekend just to see if I can make it work.

Lost Lake

Lost Lake

 

Muskegon State Park beach in autumn

Muskegon State Park beach in autumn

 

Duck Lake sunset

Duck Lake sunset

 

Mallards in flight in the snow

Mallards in flight in the snow

To make Tom happy, a few gulls in flight.

Gulls in flight

Gulls in flight

For the squirrel and chipmunk lovers, here’s one of each.

Eastern Chipmunk

Eastern Chipmunk

 

Grey squirrel

Grey squirrel

A close-up of a chickadee.

Black-capped chickadee

Black-capped chickadee

A flying great blue heron.

Great blue heron in flight

Great blue heron in flight

And, to finish this very short post off, a pair of bald eagles.

Bald eagles

Bald eagles

I may not be able to respond to comments right away, we’ll see how my internet connection works tomorrow. Right now, I’m borrowing a neighbor’s bandwidth to put this post together, but of course he doesn’t want to share and have his service run slow forever.

I have a feeling that AT&T is going to tell me tough luck, take your problems to the modem’s manufacturer, and if that’s the case, I’ll be switching my service to some one else. Luckily, we’re coming up on the end of the month, so if I do have to go without the internet as I make the switch, it won’t be for long.

That’s it for this one, thanks for stopping by!

29 responses

  1. Gorgeous photo album, the beach scene and lost lake are really special: sorry about the frustrating internet issues.

    October 19, 2015 at 1:08 am

    • Thank you very much Charlie!

      October 19, 2015 at 10:08 am

  2. Your photos are glorious. I live in a rural area and have ATT. You have my empathy.

    October 19, 2015 at 1:20 am

    • Thank you very much Cindy! I live in an apartment complex, and the only two companies allowed access are Comcast and AT&T, both of which are the pits and that I had vowed never to do business with again. After the first of the year, I think that I’ll go back to Verizon’s cellular Internet service.

      October 19, 2015 at 10:10 am

  3. I like very much your landscape photos. ‘Muskegon State Park beach in autumn’ is my favorite one.

    October 19, 2015 at 3:08 am

    • Thank you very much Cornel! I think that you’d love it here, I hope that you have the chance to visit someday.

      October 19, 2015 at 10:12 am

      • It would be great. You never know when you have a chance to visit beautiful places, even if they are so far away.

        October 19, 2015 at 12:01 pm

  4. Sorry about the internet connection, this post came over really well though. I loved the autumn views and the animal pictures are right up my street, thank you.

    October 19, 2015 at 3:24 am

    • Thank you very much Susan! I have to keep the readers of my blog happy. 😉

      October 19, 2015 at 10:13 am

  5. I hope your internet is going to collaborate with you! 😉 It’s so annoying when it doesn’t work correctly, and it usually happens when we have something to do!

    October 19, 2015 at 5:25 am

    • Tank you very much! It’s working better today, apparently the problem was on AT&T’s end, not mine.

      October 19, 2015 at 10:14 am

  6. Wow, you took your fall photos at the very peak of color. We never managed to see such a mixture of color all in the same place this year.

    Hope you get your internet issues resolved. Cable modems are cheap – and easy to set up. You’ll be back in business quickly, methinks.

    Great collection of photos.

    October 19, 2015 at 7:06 am

    • Thank you very much Judy! I was very selective about the photos that I shot this weekend, I think that peak color is still about a week away here. My Internet is working much better today, so I think that I won’t do anything until after the first of the year, then switch back to Verizon’s cellular service. Not great, but anybody is better than AT&T.

      October 19, 2015 at 10:17 am

  7. You did it again! The cutest, quirkiest bird portraits around! That black-capped chickadee is poster-ready! PS, also liked the mallards & omg that *is* snow, isn’t it? We had some flurries yesterday, too!

    October 19, 2015 at 7:28 am

    • Thank you very much Lori! The chickadee shot is proof that you have to keep shooting the same birds so that eventually you’ll get a photo like that. Yes, it was snow, the day began with snow showers, and ended sunny but cold.

      October 19, 2015 at 10:19 am

  8. Lovely shots Jerry!

    October 19, 2015 at 8:37 am

    • Thank you very much Bob!

      October 19, 2015 at 10:19 am

  9. Autumn looks like it is well underway in your area. The photos are beautiful, as always, and it is a pleasure to find news of your posts in my email box. I love the head-on photo of the chickadee. My Aunt used to be able to feed them out of her hand. Friendly little birds. We have many here at this time of year.

    October 19, 2015 at 4:20 pm

    • Thank you very much Lavinia! Chickadees are always so cheerful and friendly, I rank them as one of my favorite species of birds.

      October 20, 2015 at 2:09 am

  10. Your post came through beautifully Jerry. You can buy your own cable modem if need be. That way you wouldn’t have to use the one from AT&T and pay them for the use of it. If you think they’re bad try Time Warner Cable!
    Once again you’ve got some great fall colors in this one. I like the shot of lost lake and the beach looks inviting but I bet it gets cold there.
    We had snow flurries here yesterday and I heard that the Upper Peninsula got some. It won’t be long until we’re all buried.
    That’s a great shot of the chickadee and who could ask for more than a two eagle day!

    October 19, 2015 at 4:55 pm

    • Thank you very much Allen! It turns out that the problem was with the lines coming into the apartment complex again, even though they always claim that it isn’t. Either that, or the modem healed itself, as it’s working again, sort of.

      I think that the colors may be too good, I think that Photomatix boosts the saturation when I create the HDR images. But, if I try backing down the saturation in Lightroom, the images get really funny looking, as you will see.

      Yes, any day when one sees two eagles at once is a good day, and it’s extra special when they’re close enough together to get them in one shot.

      October 20, 2015 at 2:47 am

  11. The gulls were a treat, thank you. I am glad that you are not having to deal with ‘customer service’ as that is always very bad for yuor health. Beautiful autumn colour pictures.

    October 19, 2015 at 5:02 pm

    • Thank you very much Tom! The customer service people at AT&T are so bad that customers record their conversations with them and the recording have made the news broadcasts because of how bad the “service” is.

      October 20, 2015 at 2:12 am

  12. Fantastic shots Jerry! I love the chickadee and the mallards. Snow?! The Lost Lake shot is lovely!

    October 19, 2015 at 7:49 pm

    • Thank you very much Clare! Yes, it snowed here on Saturday, farther north, were I had been planning on going, they got several inches of snow.

      October 20, 2015 at 2:43 am

  13. Oh dear, the Internet issues must be frustrating. Sorry about that. Thanks for the beautiful shots though. The colours and clarity of those landscape shots in particular are dazzling, Jerry! How beautiful autumn is in your part of the world. 🙂

    October 20, 2015 at 6:32 am

    • Thank you very much Jane! Yes, the fall colors here are beautiful, I hope to find some more places to photograph the colors before the wind blows the remaining leaves from the trees.

      October 20, 2015 at 9:53 am

  14. Worth the trial Jerry. The landscapes in the beginning are lovely

    October 20, 2015 at 1:59 pm

    • Thank you very much Emily! I’m improving my landscape photos, but still have a long way to go.

      October 20, 2015 at 2:35 pm