My adventures in the woods, streams, rivers, fields, and lakes of Michigan

Orange-crowned Warbler, Oreothlypis celata

Note: this post, while published, is a work in progress, as are all posts in this series, My Photo Life List. My goal is to photograph every species of bird that is seen on a regular basis here in Michigan, working from a list compiled by the Michigan chapter of the Audubon Society. This will be a lifelong project, that I began in January of 2013, and as I shoot better photos of this, or any other species, I will update the post for that species with better photos when I can. While this series is not intended to be a field guide per se, my minimum standard for the photos in this series is that one has to be able to make a positive identification of the species in my photos. The information posted here is from either my observations or the Wikipedia, the online free encyclopedia, however, I have personally shot all the photos appearing in this series.

Orange-crowned Warbler, Oreothlypis celata

The orange-crowned warbler (Oreothlypis celata) is a small songbird of the New World warbler family.

These birds are distinguished by their lack of wing bars, streaking on the underparts, strong face marking or bright colouring, resembling a fall Tennessee warbler and a black-throated blue warbler, both of which are also members of the New World warbler family. The orange patch on the crown is usually not visible. They have olive-grey upperparts, yellowish underparts with faint streaking and a thin pointed bill. They have a faint line over their eyes and a faint broken eye ring. Females and immatures are duller in colour than males. Western birds are yellower than eastern birds.

Their breeding habitat is open shrubby areas across Canada, Alaska and the western United States. The nest is a small open cup well-concealed on the ground under vegetation or low in shrubs. The female builds the nest; both parents feed the young.

These birds migrate to the southern United States and south to Central America.

They forage actively in low shrubs, flying from perch to perch, sometimes hovering. These birds eat insects, berries and nectar.

Four to six eggs are laid in a nest on the ground or in a low bush.

The song of this bird is a trill, descending in pitch and volume. The call is a high chip.

On to my photos:

These photos were shot at the local park that I used to walk in daily when I had the time.

Orange crowned warbler

 

Orange crowned warbler

This is number 201 in my photo life list, only 149 to go!

That’s it for this one, thanks for stopping by!

wordpress_logo_post_whenever2

11 responses

  1. Wonderful photographs and an interesting commentary.

    April 1, 2017 at 3:27 am

    • Thank you very much Susan!

      April 1, 2017 at 8:29 am

  2. This warbler blends in so well with its surrounding, and I am amazed that you were able to capture such excellent shots!

    April 1, 2017 at 7:09 am

    • Thank you very much Hien! The difference is that birds move, that’s how I spot most of the smaller birds.

      April 1, 2017 at 8:30 am

  3. Lovely little warbler and I like its pose on the branch!

    April 1, 2017 at 12:33 pm

    • Thank you very much Marianne!

      April 1, 2017 at 10:42 pm

  4. Well spotted! I find warblers so difficult to tell apart unless they are singing.

    April 1, 2017 at 7:41 pm

    • Thank you very much Clare! I have a hard time with songs also, that’s why I prefer to make the ID through photos.

      April 1, 2017 at 10:41 pm

  5. Beautiful photo and writeup on the warbler, Jerry! I love how birds can perch sideways on a stem.

    April 2, 2017 at 4:42 pm

    • Thank you very much Lavinia!

      April 2, 2017 at 10:07 pm

  6. Pingback: Orange-crowned Warbler, Oreothlypis celata — Quiet Solo Pursuits – MobsterTiger