My adventures in the woods, streams, rivers, fields, and lakes of Michigan

Hawks, Kites, and Eagles

Hawks, Kites, and Eagles

Order: Falconiformes Family: Accipitridae
The family Accipitridae is a family of birds of prey and include hawks, eagles, kites, harriers and Old World vultures. These birds have very large powerful hooked beaks for tearing flesh from their prey, strong legs, powerful talons, and keen eyesight. There are 12 Michigan species.

Bald Eagle, Haliaeetus leucocephalus

Broad-winged Hawk, Buteo platypterus

Cooper’s Hawk, Accipiter cooperii

Golden Eagle, Aquila chrysaetos

Mississippi Kite, Ictinia mississippiensis
Northern Goshawk, Accipiter gentilis

Northern Harrier, Circus cyaneus

Red-shouldered Hawk, Buteo lineatus

Red-tailed Hawk, Buteo jamaicensis

Rough-legged Hawk, Buteo lagopus

Sharp-shinned Hawk, Accipiter striatus

Swainson’s Hawk, Buteo swainsoni


What do you think?

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.