My adventures in the woods, streams, rivers, fields, and lakes of Michigan

True owls

True owls

Order: Strigiformes Family: Strigidae
Typical owls are small to large solitary nocturnal birds of prey. They have large forward-facing eyes and ears, a hawk-like beak, and a conspicuous circle of feathers around each eye called a facial disk. There are 10 Michigan species.

Barred Owl, Strix varia

Boreal Owl, Aegolius funereus
Eastern Screech-Owl, Megascops asio
Great Gray Owl, Strix nebulosa

Great Horned Owl, Bubo virginianus

Long-eared Owl, Asio otus
Northern Hawk Owl, Surnia ulula
Northern Saw-whet Owl, Aegolius acadicus
Short-eared Owl, Asio flammeus

Snowy Owl, Bubo scandiacus


What do you think?

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.